Friday 5

  1. What was your favorite piece of playground equipment when you were a kid?
  2. What do you remember about your first-grade teacher? Pick the earliest grade teacher you remember, if you don’t remember anything about your first-grade teacher.
  3. What’s an especially memorable field trip you took with a class in your very early years?
  4. What are some fads you remember from your elementary school days? Did you get into them?
  5. If your elementary school had food service, what’s a lunch you were especially fond of, and what’s a lunch you were especially not fond of?

My answers:

  1. I liked the swingset. I was constantly finding how high I could swing without flying out of the seat. 😛
  2. I remember my third grade teacher. Miss Henry. She was a fat bitch who was fond of pulling my hair.
  3. I went to the Science Centre.
  4. Jelly everything. Bracelets, shoes.. you name it, also bangles in general, 80’s fashions… and yes, I spent every Saturday and Sunday, imitating Madonna and Cyndi Lauper’s yipping…
  5. Pizza and possibly the mystery meat, but I usually packed a lunch.

From http://f.riday5.com

Log in to write a note
July 17, 2020

There’s something about elementary school cafeteria pizza.  Even most of the usual lunch-bringers would get a school lunch on pizza day, and when you look back on it, it couldn’t have been very good.  But I still remember it fondly!

Thanks for participating in this week’s Friday 5!  🙂  Have a good weekend.

July 17, 2020

@scrivener Yes, I agree. School pizza for me was the highlight of the week, the mystery meat was the crappy one. LOL!!! You are welcome!

July 17, 2020

Here’s a really random thing. I don’t know if this happened at others schools in other areas or not. I can’t remember anyone else dealing with this. My middle school had a deal where they had normal school lunches and then each day of the week, they also had food from different restaurants. I think Wednesday was a local pizza place. There was a Subway day. There was a pizza roll day. The pizza rolls were so good. It was awesome! We could get a personal pizza from a restaurant. Loved it.

July 17, 2020

@heffay Oh sweet. I wish they had that here… 😛

July 17, 2020

I think I have to say the school yard merry-go-round, you could make it as wild as you wanted to (still lke it like that) 🙂
First grade teacher, her pony tails, sweet 🙂
We had like this road trip, a week long, think I was 12. Have some fond memories of it…
Fads? I was a boy!
No food service, had to do with moms sandwiches. Sometimes we swapped and I had a friend whos mother made the best sandwiches ever!

July 17, 2020

@anonypus I had this friend who gave me this giant orange for my apple. The orange was seriously the size of a newborn’s head.

July 17, 2020

i think my slide was the favorite. i really hated the rolly-type slides. either the metal was hot or i’d get my little fingers pinched in them. and i remember the smell of cafeteria spagetti – day-old, thick spagetti sauce with a re-heated cheese crust. so good. and the chocolate milk. takes me back.

July 18, 2020

@birdofpassage LOL!!! I loved the slides, I was that kid who was always climbing up the slides lol…. reheated spaghetti? 😮

July 18, 2020

@sammybaby  oh i was definitely climbing up.just not on the rolly-ones lol. and yeah man, you ever have reheated spagetti? the sauce sets into that pasta overnight. MAN. it was delish. and now i want day-old spagetti. yum. <3

July 18, 2020

@birdofpassage That was good times. Day old spaghetti? I’ll try anything once, except squid/octopus

July 18, 2020

@sammybaby i’m telling you. phaa.nom.enal. and not even calamari? i’d eat squid/octopus any day. i’m a bottomfeeder! lol

July 18, 2020

@birdofpassage I love salmon though.

July 18, 2020

@sammybaby yaas, queen! <3

July 18, 2020