Take care of your teeth

My face aches.

I had the dentist pull out a broken back molar yesterday. The pain had become so excruciating the days leading up to the extraction, that I was ready to walk into highway traffic to put an end to it.

I couldn’t sleep for two days. Every 30 minutes or so I’d be up swishing with warm salt water, re-applying extra strength Orajel, crying and moaning, my thoughts turned to desperate begging to the unknown for it to stop.

The pain seeped into both upper and lower jaw on my right side. Into my ear, and down my neck it ached and throbbed. Night time was always the worst, due to the extra blood flow going to my head from laying down.

When the Tylenol/Advil combo ceased to help, I turned to my mother and her old remedies and tried putting a slice of raw garlic on the bad tooth. It relieved the pain slightly but my mouth smelled just a couple ingredients shy of guacamole and i couldn’t help but apologize profusely for the odor when I did manage to make it to the dentist.

Its my fault it got so bad.

I’ve been waiting for benefits to kick in, and haven’t really had the funds to keep up on my dental health. I broke my molar in October, but it didn’t really start hurting until last week. 2 weeks ago I made an appointment to have it pulled but chickened out and rescheduled last minute with some half-truth lie of being too sick to come in.

It wasn’t hurting then and I was afraid for them to prod at it and make it hurt. So I put it off, and now I’m suffering for it.

The pain got so bad that I ended up calling in and begging them to take me in a day early which thankfully they obliged.

The source of the pain is gone now but my face hurts from the dentist reefing back and forth on my jaw with the tooth he was trying to ‘wiggle’ free. At least it will soon all be over.

even if it is day 3, and I can’t sleep.

My face aches, but it is just a dull roar opposed to the torture it was yesterday.

Teeth decay sucks.

Take care of your teeth.

Log in to write a note
February 2, 2018

Oh no! I am so sorry and you are right, it’s important to take care of ones teeth. What’s sad though is that dental care is so expensive and for those without any type of dental insurance it makes it hard to see a dentist. Still, if you can, see a dentist every six months for a cleaning and check up. Don’t wait until you develop problems and are in extreme pain. I’m glad you were able to have your tooth taken care of and that your pain is beginning to lessen. What you went through sounds horrible!

February 2, 2018

@wildrose_2 Dental care is SO expensive. without benefits its about $2000 to repair my molar with a root canal. at the moment i only have emergency dental which covers extractions and 3 fillings. no cleanings or check ups though. 🙁

I’m definitley going to make it a priority to save for it though. I never want to feel this pain again.

February 27, 2018

hope you’re feeling better!