City of Dreams, Goals, Love & Hoes.

October is FLYING by!  I last updated mid-day on S’s birthday – after work we met up around 8pm for drinks, hit a couple of local spots, then went up to cheer Diana Nyad before crashing too hard.  S loved his gifts – he is a big Buffalo Bills football team so I had one of his favorite players record a video greeting for him and revealing what one of his big presents was.  It was super funny – I wrote the script but the guy’s mannerisms and reactions to the gift itself were completely hysterical.   S said he watched it like 12 times and couldn’t stop laughing!  I also found Johnny Cash stamps at the post office and he loved them!

The next day morning came way too early but no rest for the wicked.  I worked until around 5 then got ready and met my friend M up at Lincoln Center for some NY Film Festival events. We saw Only Lovers Left Alive – the new Jim Jarmusch movie.  I loved the idea of a story about two vampires who’d been in love for centuries, but it was more like an hipster blood junkie addiction metaphor thing.  Nothing much happened.  Neat visually though.  For me the best part was the way they made Tangier look so beautiful and interesting – I had been there after my Gibraltar swim but to me seemed like a cramped, dry, unexciting place.  It was nice to see the same place through a different lens.  Also some very intriguing scenes shot in Detroit.  I always hope that city will rise again.  Skipped the Q&A and headed up to the patrons lounge.  M made friends with one of the bartenders and he completely hooked us up all night.  It was completely ridiculous – famous people were queue-ing at the bar and us sitting in our (high backed brown velvet!) chairs all night, glasses never even got to half empty.  M is seriously the best – lovely to everyone and everyone just gravitates to her.

I had never really gotten the hype about Tilda Swinton and I don’t think she looks particularly stunning on film but after seeing her in person she’s my new hero.  She has this weird lanky grace and literally glows, like a sexy magical alien.  It’s crazy – the next day I looked her up and she is 52 years old!  And her boyfriend’s my age – rock on.  Heck, maybe she really is a vampire.  Whatever it is, (SK II maybe?) I want some.  Then Steve Buscemi walked in and my night was complete.

We decided not to go to the reunion screening of Dazed and Confused and stayed in the lounge until the afterparty at the Paramount.  By this time we were starving so we ate every single appetizer presented to us (seriously, I ate something fried that had cream cheese in it, and some sort of fried meat on a stick.)  Miraculously I only had one drink at the afterparty and a couple of seltzers which probably saved my life the next day.  Jumped in a cab with M, she dropped me off before heading back to Brooklyn and we proclaimed it possibly the best night ever. 

The next day I had to work waaay too early, and look like a human to boot.  Bah.  I got up, showed, blowdried, makeup and suit and went to work where I proceeded to go non-stop until 5:30pm.  Thank goodness it was a short day for this time of year.  Went home, took a nap (S was already in the bed!) and then headed back up to Lincoln Center for another movie, Blue is the Warmest Color (for once I think the English title is more apt then the original.)  This one got the Palme D’Or at Cannes and was controversial due to some stuff with the actors/director and the really long, really explicit lesbian love scenes, but it didn’t seem exploitative to me, more like a portrait.  Some people have such a  hunger, hunger for life, hunger for certain people. It can either destroy you or fuel your life.  The love scenes showed part of that hunger, so I didn’t think they were that gratuitous.  Overall I liked it, it was over 3.5 hours long and I wasn’t dying to get out of there so that’s probably the best indicator.  After that we took the subway home and went.to.sleep. 

I slept in and then met up with my mom to see a matinee of the new Janis Joplin musical.  I really hated it.  I like Janis Joplin’s music and feel her life could have been an awesome show, but this kind of sanitized everything and was like a watered down greatest hits montage.   It was a nice day and we took a walk around midtown.  I got a cashmere sweater and some running shorts at Joe Fresh, then we went for early dinner at the Andaz.  We had a carafe of wine, an amazing cheese plate with bread and grapes and fresh honeycomb, my mom had carrot ginger soup with coriander and I had some autumn veg mix that had parsnips, potatoes, squash, ginger, and tumeric.  So good.  We were too full for dessert but each had a cordial – I had something called licor 43 (yummy vanilla-y taste, served over big ice cubes) and my mom has a vile concoction called Zwack.  I dropped my mom off at Grand Central then took the train down to 14th Street.  Got off the subway and started feeling really ill, so I got on the crosstown bus and S met me at the door.  Spent rest of the night and all of the next day in bed.  I needed that!

Super late night last night – took car service home and driver was playing Bon Jovi.  Hadn’t eaten all day so I had some bread and cheese and gingersnaps and chatted with S a bit.  Watched Project Runway and before I knew it it was 3am.  Ugh.  Got up around 8am today and so far it’s been an easier day.  I was smart and brought food too – oatmeal for breakfast, lots of coffee and a delish brie and green apple sandwich on some sort of artisanal walnut raisin bread.  It’s the little things!  I am debating on whether to go out to this great-sounding but super-late night event tonight, I really want to but know the rest of my week is going to be such madness and I have an early day tomorrow too.  I may leave soon and go to gym, I need it. 

Couple of fun photos – arial view of Diana Nyad swim (from her blog) and one of me at 190 Bowery, one of my all-time fave NYC landmarks:
 

Log in to write a note
October 15, 2013

thanks for the tip on the Jarmusch movie. Tilda playing a vampire in a Jarmusch movie makes me really happy.

you have inspired me to make a green apple and Brie sandwich on fancy bread tomorrow for lunch. thank you!

If ever I find an actual vampire and convince him or her to turn me, I promise to add you to the list of people to turn also. 🙂

October 15, 2013

You have such an interesting life!

October 15, 2013

I should visit NY sometime. It was never in my top 10 places to see, but reading you and a few other favourites who live in NY have been making me think… Oh and Steve Buscemi. Yes.

October 15, 2013

I absolutely love Tilda Swinton and the fact that she’s like 7 feet tall lol. And October really is flying by. How is it so close to Halloween already?

That is the best desciption of Tilda Swinton in the WORLD.

October 15, 2013

Going back to NYC Nov 6-11. Will it be crazy cold? I got Jimmy Fallon tix! Yay.

I’ve got to try this Liquor 43! It says it’s a mix of citrus with vanilla & that’s essentially Big Red, my favorite (coke/soft drink/soda/pop) ever. And they sell it at the liquor store a half block away! Thanks, yo!!!

October 15, 2013

I just the the musical about Janis Joplin on Sunday morning. Was wondering how that would be.

October 15, 2013

I read “hoes” as “shoes”–what does that say about me? Those photos are awesome–and I love that one of you! That could be in a gallery. I had no idea Swinton is 52–I haven’t seen her in person, but I agree. She’s like one of those Afghan hounds, all grace. ryn: “Andele” would be an awesome name. And way less misunderstood than Andel. 🙂

October 15, 2013

Any night with Steve Buscemi in it is complete!

RYN* Yeah, but didn’t you write S into your will? I mean, that’s just a dumb piece of paper too. But at least you know that if you die, the state or whoever won’t take all your stuff from him if he’s your joint tenant or whatever. Basically, I sometimes think it’s weird when people don’t do some sort of action to formalize a long term partnership, because if something bad happens, the government could get negatively involved (estate taxes, medical directives.) My dad is semi-retired. I think if the right gig came along, he’d go back to work, but he doesn’t want to relocate and he’s 58 and so there’s not a ton of options. But he’s also only 58 and I don’t know that my parents planned for him to retire this early, financially (they are set, but not necessarily set if they both live to be 90.)

Also, GO TO BED.

Steve Buscemi creeps me out (I’d probably be a bit intimidated if I ever saw him in person) haha. Sounds like you had a great night =) Love the pic of you with the sign, too funny!

October 16, 2013

I’m tired just reading about your late nights! ~jo

ryn: thank you! and congratulations to you for living the life you dreamed of, societal norms be damned! haha

Apples and cheese are one of my great loves. Mm. Also your week is GO GO GO. I think I could go out three nights in a row, but only if I had zero daytime commitments. Of course for never ending booze and fabulous nights with friends, it would he worth it. Just exhausting! Also your gift was amazing. His favorite player recording a greeting?! How did you swing that?! So perfect.

October 20, 2013

RYN: You are so invited to my birthday next year!