Close Within My Heart

Even though we are miles apart

Throughout the empty spaces in between

Do not fret, my love, because you are close within my heart!

A blessed thing this love of mine has been..

Your love has fertilized this barren soil

With flowering seeds of deep affection

And with your lovingkindness and constant toil

My heart has blossomed with roses of devotion;

In the distance

Our love shall continue to grow

With much potency and without resistance

Nor the weeds that attach themselves to the roots below

And choke my existence

You may say with much grief and pain

That you aren’t able to reap what you have sowed…

But please do not despair, for your work was not in vain…

For your constant labor, much gratitude you are owed;

If it weren’t for you….

This poor soul of mine would be a desolate place;

A barren field, most uninhabited and lonely

But now it has flourished and shines with so much beauty and grace..

Germinated by your love and nourished by your loyalty;

It is only fair that you can reap and enjoy

The splendor of your creation

With much pleasure and joy

As you rendered in passion and affection…

And yet we are miles and miles afar

Yet in my beauty I am grateful

As I look into the mirror

the one who is responsible

For my true beauty….

And even though we are million miles apart,

You are forever close within my heart!

Mary Gonzalez ©1999

Log in to write a note