jobs

On and off lately I’ve been thinking about changing jobs. The weeks seem long anymore. I’m getting annoyed at work a lot more. Most of my annoyances are just little things, but the little things don’t match well with my personality. Example, I’m a quiet person, I don’t feel the need to talk a lot. But coworkers constantly talking to each other (and not getting work done!) bothers me. I guess I like things quiet, quiet keeps me focused on my job. Since I hear a lot of laughter, yelling (my area is loud cause of machines, which is also annoying) I get distracted. Over the past 4 years I’ve been at this job, I’ve felt like I’ve never been qualified to do the job. But work seems to be desperate for people, especially the specific job I do

**I can’t get into specifics of my job because it’s against work policy to go into details on social platforms** **Can’t talk about specifics of my job to NON US citizens**

I thought about the other jobs I can do in this town (town has 14,500 people). There are jobs similar to mine. If I’m not fully liking my job at this company, why would I want to be annoyed/miserable at a different company. Sure, I could go to places like hotels, gas stations, grocery stores, food places, bars. I’ve done the food places, bar, hotel jobs as a teen (bar was when I was 21). I don’t deal well with the public or customers.

I came to realize my ideal dream job would be National Geographic. As in the magazine, not necessarily the tv stuff (but maybe behind the scenes stuff). I thought a lot about the magazine because I like to take pictures. I want to be able to travel. I like learning about new places, talking to local people about where they live (If I’m curious about something I talk a lot. If I get the chance to talk about my hobbies, I talk a lot). Of course I’d have to go back to school for this kind of thing, photojournalism.

Along with this, I thought about sports writing and taking action shots of the sport. I’d have to learn more about certain sports and learn how to take action pics better. Then again, going back to school.

I know this sounds like an excuse, but the going back to school doesn’t sound fun. I’ve never been school smart. Never cared much for school since I was young. After the age of 8 I basically gave up on trying hard in school. I remember the situation why I stopped caring. The first couple years of school, I was too smart for the other kids my age. My reading/writing was way above my peers. I learned things quickly. But when I was 8 I had teachers that questioned my ability, even after proving I could read/write, math at a higher level. I didn’t like being questioned about my ability so I gave up on trying, pretended to dumb myself so teachers would get off my back about doing higher level stuff. So gave up trying to be better than the peers.

Plus, in college, I didn’t like sitting in the lectures, I couldn’t concentrate. My mind was usually in la la land. I wanted to get up and do hands on stuff. I learn best with hands on and some explaining

Log in to write a note