A Line in the Ash

In which our Hero tries to figure out how to test-stub for human

Sometimes I’m cognizant that my social skills have basic gaps that don’t occur to me until I notice a lapse.  Like, say, the place that was my home and the center of my identity was suddenly online again after a four year interregnum in the dark, you, Gentle Reader, instinctively introduce yourself, and I rail against the dying and then the undying of the light.

(sigh)

At the same time, I’m still paralyzed.  The backup systems where I blog are woefully inadequate.  ODClassic, as I am immediately choosing to call it, offered an XML export, which was remarkable because I don’t know how many people had any ability to parse it.  It’s also remarkable for completely failing to include the privacy flag on notes and the chapter marks.  Which means that I don’t really know what goes where past a certain point.

I’m not upset about it, but I find myself paralyzed. I can’t write here, not for real, without a backup.  It’s on the to-do list, but I suspect it will be less urgent than the bugs that get in the way of notes and editing.

So then what?

I still see others being human.  I still see that I might have slipped up on that point.

I started ODClassic after lurking for the first few months, so that I came to it with a pent up need to speak and the guileless manchild stupidity that left me unafraid of the empty edit box.  Now, with determination, I just feel like it’s a little weird to introduce myself when I’m not here yet.  But then, I’m hereish. Here and now.

So.

Hello, my name is Serin, and I’m an opendiarist. I think of myself as 50, and then remember that I’m 45, and then remember that I’m not quite there yet either.

Sad truth is that my life is not measurably different from The Darkness, so if you can remember anything about me from the last 10 years or so, it’s going to be true.

I’m older, of course.  Global warming has cause my scalp to rise and cover more and more of my hair.  I don’t think I’m noticeably greyer in the last four years. Health is okay.

I still read a tonne of sci-fi, and yes, still sometimes in the shower.  (grin)  Most of my dabbling is with code these days, though I’ve picked up a poorly served sketchbook these days, and I actually took a glass blowing class a few years ago, so that was fun.

I’m still a technology consultant, still working freelance at the same main client who emphasize their ambivalence about me in increasingly sharp ways.  My contract ends at the end of the year.  So perhaps by the time I decide I’m writing here for real, that story may be completely different.

(Or they’ll renew me at the last minute and the meat-grinder spins on around me)

Romantic life?  I think the traditional descriptor is “It’s complicated” except that it actually isn’t.  More just that I consider it private for now.

Family is good.  My parents are in good health, and the littles, my cousins that have starred in so many of my entries, are big now.  A few are married.  More have jobs.  The youngest of them, my baby, my Moonbeam, she’s finishing her degree this year.  I’m so proud of all of them.

I don’t really have hobbies anymore.  Truthfully, I never really adapted to the littles getting bigger, and they were the biggest trigger for me to take time to do *stuff.*

And my diary is broken.  Literally broken, the order of the import is broken where there’s two (or more) entries in a single day.  So I can’t back it up, and I can’t really trust it.

That’s me.

Log in to write a note
November 29, 2017

I am glad that you are at least hereish.

November 29, 2017

I am glad that you are hereish also! We are working on the ordering problems for old multi-entry days, so hopefully that will be fixed in the near future. There will also be export capabilities here in the future, but as you said we are working on fixing things from testing right now. In the meantime, if you feel that you need an export before then, please message Support at the bottom of the page and we can process one. Thanks!

November 29, 2017

Regarding back up. You could do it old school, as I do. I do almost all of my journaling on OpenOffice or MS Word, then copy it here. More work? Yes, but only slightly. Then the document is automatically stored on my hard drive.

November 29, 2017

I get what you mean about the younger generation growing up. Grownups are just not as much fun as kids.

Thanks for finding the multi-entry-per-day import bug. I didn’t know about it but I’m sure I suffer from it. I was a real babblefish. Autocorrect wants me to spell that babelfish. Hmph. A babelfish translates. A babblefish writes three entries a day due to lack of impulse control.

What I wish we had now was a way to reveal the picture links in the old entries. My Photobucket uploads were documented and indexed by my entries. Now it’s just an undifferentiated mass of pretty colors and photos plucked from news sites.

November 29, 2017

Seeing you post is comforting to me. I haven’t adapted to my Girl turning into Young Woman, either. For instance, today, she is experimenting with creating a vegan stuffing involving brussels sprouts (ick) and other fancy things like rosemary. Who raised her?

November 30, 2017

And things change, and things stay the same, and we grow and we learn and we love and we cry.

But mostly, we just live it day by day.

November 30, 2017

good to see you again, Serin

December 1, 2017

Hello again. I hope you will stay here and that the back-up issue is prioritized higher. Didn’t realize it was an issue. Glad to hear all the littles are doing well.

December 3, 2017

Ah, Moonbeam! And how are your Willow and Mouse? (Makes me so glad to see you here, btw. Oh, and you told me to write before noting, so lo, I writ and now I note. 😁)

December 4, 2017

xo

January 29, 2018

I for one, and very very glad to see a ‘face’ that I have not heard of for many many years…

April 11, 2018

Serin! You’re the first diarist I searched for after hearing the news of OD’s comeback. Ten years? My gaw.

November 3, 2021

Hi. I’ve been rereading my diary from it’s 2001 beginning and I’ve seen your name in my notes. Made me wonder if you were still here. It looks like you are. And you aren’t. Just wanted to say hello.