What do you think?

Hi! My name is Sierra. I am a wife & mother of two beautiful yet hectic children. I have a 5 year old boy who will be 6 on the 18th of this month & I have a 3 year old daughter that will be 4 on the 20th of this month. Don’t ask me how I mange to have my kids 2 years 2 days apart but I did & I got super lucky. Lol. They share birthday parties which are cheaper for me & their Daddy. My family of 4 plus my mother & a roommate. The roommate I met working at my last job which was a gas station in the airport. His 2 year old sons mother worked with me for a few months until she found something better. Well anyway, she kicked him out in the middle of the night in the pouring rain. I myself have been homeless before so I personally hate to see someone living on the streets. With that being said I invited him to stay in our extra bedroom. Our roommate (Jerome) gets his child during the week while his childs mother works & every other weekend. Well the first day she dropped the child off he was really irritable, watery eyes, pulling at his ears etc. It was obvious the poor boy wasn’t feeling well. I told him that maybe a nice bath would help him feel better. He proceeds to put him in the tub when we noticed a HORRIBLE sore right above his butt cheek. So I lean in to look closer & it looks to me like a cigarette burn. I asked my husband to come in & look forĀ  second opinion & he said the exact same thing. & not only did he have the burn on him but he also had a terrible rash surrounding it. The kind of rash that babies get when they are in wet diapers for a long period of time. Of course Jerome became highly upset & called the babies mother.

 

 

Here is where I’m asking what yall think. He calls the mother & completely blows up. Like in a way like you would think the child was ran over or something & he wasn’t notified about it. She claims that it’s just a bug bite that he acquired while he was here in Jeromes care 3 days prior. If that was true then wouldn’t I see said “bug bite” the day before when I changed his diaper? We also changed him right before they left & still no sore or markings.. Granted Jerome could’ve called her & talked to her about it calmly instead of yelling & screaming sounding like a psycho. If you were in Jeromes shoes how would you feel? How would you react to the situation? Was he wrong for how he acted? Should he have acted worse? I feel like I would be mad too But I wouldnt have handled it the way he did. I would’ve called her & had a civil conversation with herĀ & explain to her what she could do better. I could be wrong. All I know now is, since he called her & acted the way he did towards her about the situation she came right back & picked the baby up & now he is no longer allowed to see the child. She is using the poor boy as a pawn. Is she wrong for what she is doing? Or would you do the same thing she is doing & keeping the child from his father all because he overreacted about his child having a cigarette burn & rash on his bottom? It’s like a double edge sword. What do you think?

Log in to write a note
October 2, 2020

I’d never use a child as a pawn. That’s so wrong. He has every right as a parent to be concerned about what is going with his child. Does he suspect abuse? Maybe he can get child services involved anonymously? He needs to have access to his child.

October 7, 2020

He thought it was a cigarette burn. I told him he should’ve waited til he was calmed down & had a clearer mindset before he spoke with her. & I told him to weigh out every option before coming to conclusions. But he is a hot head & doesn’t listen to reason sometimes. I don’t know. So many other ways he could’ve handled the situation.