So much for sleep

So we have these 2 extra dogs with us this week…  3 dogs, 3 beds to sleep in, no problem right?  Yeah.  Sure.

On Sunday night, the 2 "loaner dogs" ended up in my bed for the night.  They don’t settle down very quickly at night, so they were moving around to try to find a good position to sleep in.  Usually, there’s only one person in bed with them (their owner), so having 2 people to contend with gave them limited options for stretching out.

Yesterday, while my wife was out, I figured I’d get to bed early (10pm).  I ended up reading with my younger daughter until 10:15pm (and she’s 8 and she’s supposed to be asleep by 9-something pm, yes, yes, I know, I know).  She had one dog, my older daughter had our dog, and the third dog got put in her cage downstairs in the kitchen.  Good deal…  bed all to myself.  Then, the yapping starts.

Yap.  Yap yap.  Yap.  Yap yap yap!  Growl…  yap yap!

Somehow, the big older dog ended up in my bed.  He wasn’t the one in the cage when I went to bed.  He likes to sleep against someone at night, so the whole night I felt like I was being pushed towards the edge.

Ugh.

 

Log in to write a note
September 14, 2010

haha that’s why my dogs aren’t allowed upstairs!

September 20, 2010

Ugh, indeed. I don’t know how you do it.