Les Elections Francaises

Well, the polls are in- Nicolas Sarkozy is the new French president. I was puzzling out what I thought, which candidate I’d support, and it was a very difficult decision to make. I believe I would have voted for Segolene Royal; I was not a big supporter of hers, nor do I agree with all of her plans. In fact I find more of Sarkozy’s to be good, feasible ideas- her proposal for compulsory education from the age of 3 I found a bit worrying. I wasn’t ready for school till I was nearly six, and I think this would have been very bad for the development of children. I also did not get any impression from Madame Royal that her economic policies were either wise or what the citizens of France wanted (nobody, it seems, wants to be stuck in a 35 hour work week).

My vote for Royal would have been a vote against Sarkozy, because, despite whatever I might like in his policies, he is too divisive- he will never have a great deal of support, despite his win (53% is not a comfortable margin). His track record is also poor- his policies and public statements have lead to riots and discontent among both students and the poorer sections of the country. This election saw 80% voter turnout in the banlieues, largely people inspired to do what they could to keep him out of office, and those people must be losing hope of the changes they need to improve their lives.

If he delivers on his promises, he may be very good for France’s economy and therefore could help the people he has driven against himself. He will not endear himself to the rest of Europe because he is apparently very pro-American (oh, the horror, apparently). If he does not, I worry for whoever comes after him to pick up the pieces.

Log in to write a note
May 7, 2007

RYN: Thanks for your reply and all of your support.. I really appreciate it..

May 9, 2007

RYN i knew there was something weird about you, haha

May 11, 2007

Hi RYN: I’m not sure about why the sudden publicity. A whole lot of folks probably never even heard of Transamerica, much less considered seeing it. In some ways, the TG emergence has been characterized as the next civil rights battle, although Buddha knows, we haven’t even finished the gay/lesbian rights issues. I’m convinced it’ll take years, literally generations, to get the gender/orientation racism (as opposed to skin color racism) out of the population. there are still places in the US where parents teach kids not to like those dark folks — I came from south louisiana, and a lot of relatives are still there. On the french elections (I’m french ancestry via louisiana) — I feel very sorry and worried for them. For a guy whose parents were immigrants, he seems a lot like a rabid US republican — maybe he’ll envision the next Maginot line. I know my opinion is not terribly popular, but i like France, i like the french. I am sad to see that part of their basic nature may be changing, and not for the better. It seems the tendency to scare people into voting for you (and then later co-opting their obedience) is spreading, which is a sad thing for the whol

May 23, 2007

RYN: Hmm… a lot I didn’t know there, thanks. Gotta love politics! Heh.