On Maximizing Understanding thru Fractals

The Fractal.  It is an amazing representation of mathematical recursion, but it is not just a pretty face.  It is the secret to being able to access you memory in functional ways, I think.  It is the secret to understanding life in a holistic way.  Anecdotally, it seems obvious to me and has for many years that we are all connected in a way that we cannot necessarily feel or experience directly.  Recently my studies have introduced me to Terrance McKenna, and I am starting to think tht maybe it could be experienced directly without the methods I have studied.  I have always discounted any elucidation that occurred when I was less than balanced, believing if G*d wanted to talk to me, She would not need me to be baked to do it.

Let me explain.

No, that would take too long.  Let me sum up…

From the Wikipedia definition:

“In mathematics, a fractal is a subset of Euclidean space with a fractal dimension that strictly exceeds its topological dimension. Fractals appear the same at different scales, as illustrated in successive magnifications of the Mandelbrot set.[1][2][3][4] Fractals often exhibit similar patterns at increasingly smaller scales, a property called self-similarity, also known as expanding symmetry or unfolding symmetry; if this replication is exactly the same at every scale, as in the Menger sponge,[5] it is called affine self-similar. Fractal geometry lies within the mathematical branch of measure theory.”

Now, this idea that it is bigger than the topological space is so important to life.  When you think about the fact your diaphragm only has to move about an inch to cover about a tennis court size of lung objects with new oxygen molecules.  That is an amazing multiplicative event.  And in the army, we called things like this force multipliers, but really they re transformers.  And transformation is the key to Life, no matter what language you speak.  You might not know that word for it, but you will understand why I say we are all on the same Path, it is just a different part of the Fractal.  The Path is a Fractal, not a line, see?

Log in to write a note
January 14, 2022

In the Army we had a thing called ‘high payoff’ tasks that I always thought of as parts of a fractal.  Fractals are self similar at scale, is what Terrance called them,and I think that is a good definition, as it allows us to relate it to other aspects that are ot mathematical alone.

Understanding as a fractal is interesting.  Higher and lower meanings and the unpacking of meaning from memes, as wellas meaning transmission.  Interesting start.  I look forward to seeing more!