Excoriation

Not sure if many people have heard of excoriation but after doing some research I’ve learned that I definitely suffer from it. I can’t seem to stop picking the skin off my feet even though it hurts like hell to walk the next day. I spend hours every night picking and picking. I try to stop and sometimes I can for awhile but it usually doesn’t last. In all honesty it is kind of therapeutic for me and gives me some peace but damn does it ever hurt so much to walk the next day. I want to stop so I’m working on it. It’s hard

Log in to write a note
May 16, 2020

I have little raised bumps on my arms I pick at. Strawberries. I’ll have to look up what the technical term is. I can’t remember right now. My brain would like me to pick at them. I mostly resist. It’s a battle.

May 16, 2020

I have all sorts of scars all over the place from digging acne.  The tissue gets destroyed from me gouging at those little foreign intruders in my flesh.  It’s okay, I look like the moon…

But that’s not excoriation.  You’re just really struggling with having a human body, eh?  Hmm.

May 17, 2020

@elcreature what?! I think I’m missing your point sorry. But yes I’m definitely struggling hence my posts

May 17, 2020

@skinney4life my point was to relate but they’re technically different things.  I hope your struggle abates so that you can experience having a human body in a less distressful way.  It’s obviously pretty extreme for you.  At least you don’t have FOP.  That condition makes me bawl my eyes out.  If you’ve never heard of it, FOP is when people grow a second skeleton until they become completely solid like a statue.  Their muscle turns into solid bone.  It makes me cry so hard.  Your discomfort and distress seems almost that bad but without the severity of something like FOP.  I do hope you experience relief and comfort, soon.  Enjoy your life, suffer less.

May 17, 2020

@elcreature so sorry to hear that. That sounds awful. Honestly the first comment you made just sounding very condescending

May 17, 2020

I pluck hair (below the neck)