Self-Isolation

So, turns out.. the whole world is panicking.. Covid-19 is very real and here to stay. I live in Canada, where the whole country isn’t shut down, but mines well be. We are instructed tasty put, and not leave. Ive taken up running, which to be honest.. I’ve always wanted to do. Im a gym fanatic, so having those closed are a bummer. I came back from Mexico about two weeks ago. Best trip of my life. When I left, this whole Carona Virus thing DID exist, but it was nowhere near what I came back to. The city is panicking, which means none of us are working. I came back to a call from my boss telling me that I have to Self-Quarantine for 14 days.. Just great, exactly what I need.. another missed pay check. Then, 10 days into my self-isolation, I get another call from her, telling me business is bad and their laying off majority of the staff. IS THIS A JOKE? Of course, I stay calm and do the whole “aw, I understand , its ok”. But no, I wanted to scream “BULLSHIT”. Also, keep in mind, I work in retail.. where, to be honest unless you’ve worked in retail, you will NEVER understand just how shitty it is. Ive been interviewing elsewhere, and I got a job offer, but due to this bullshit, it got pushed to JULY, yipeee… another setback. The government is doing whatever they can here, pushing mortgages, pushing bills.. but, we still need to survive. I live with my boyfriend in a pretty big city.. life ISNT cheap. Not to mention, his ass is also in self-isolation for 14 days. No money coming in for 3 weeks (vacation included), but lots going out.. ugh, I just don’t understand why people dont STAY HOME. If Trudeau has come onto the television, instagram and every social platform telling you to stop the spread and STAY HOME, then maybe you should do just that.

 

Aside from all of the politics of self-isolation. Then comes the mind.. Since being home, ive had sooo much time to just think. Think about everything. My life, my relationship, my career, my future. Theres been a lot going on in my mind, and I needed someone to talk to. Turns out, I dont have many friends. I have a couple family members, but, I really do hate people, I am such an introvert. I just needed an outlet to let out all my frustrations and my thoughts. So, here I am.. this is me, and this is my life.

Log in to write a note
March 24, 2020

Working in retail is so hard, and there is so much mistreatment of the workers, made to feel less than they should – I hope your offer for the new job works out, even if it is postponed.

Welcome to Open Diary!

March 24, 2020

Hi just my life, everyone is affected by Covid 19. All of us are fearful for our jobs, country lockdown, everything uncertain at this stage, wish that your job offer turn out well. Most importantly, our mind to stay strong and healthy.