Half-A-Night

This is the first night of working the night shift in a long time.  I thought I would work a full night, as decent paychecks go.  But, at 12:30 AM, my boss said, That’s It! Go home.  I thought to myself, Well Damn! It’s only halfway through the night.  Hmmm, maybe tonight will be a full night.  If not, then I’ll have to request that I go back on dayshift.  Because I’m not going to settle for 5 hours a night and a tiny paycheck and assume that everything is going to be hunky-dory.  The world does not work that way, and neither do I. 

Log in to write a note
July 7, 2020

Yeah. Usually the night shift is longer?

July 7, 2020

@lyricalheart yes, normally it’s a 10-hour night. From dusk till dawn.  Sam, do you ever sleep?

July 7, 2020

@socialstephen I have mild insomnia … I get up to go to the loo and after that can’t sleep.

July 7, 2020

@lyricalheart Yes, I have that problem too. But only when I switch off the bathroom light, before opening the door. After that, I just pace around the bathroom for hours looking for the light switch.

July 7, 2020

@socialstephen LOL!! Eventually I will sleep. Sometimes though, I think I’m nocturnal.

July 7, 2020

@lyricalheart If only I’m nocturnal, then I could see in the dark and find the light switch right away.

July 7, 2020

Is it not true that if you work 5 hours they have to pay you for 8?

I just saw the picture of you here and you look so cute…..

July 7, 2020

@jaythesmartone They only pay me from the time I clock in, to the time I clock out. In the case of last night, it was from 7:30 PM to 12:30 AM. There isn’t any extra pay.

I’m happy that more people can see my photo now.  It has always been there, but for some reason, not everyone could see it.  I wasn’t sure at the time, what I could do to fix it.  After going over possibilities in my mind, I remembered that Open Diary is a WordPress site.

WordPress is owned and operated by a company called Automattic. It’s just like the word automatic, but it is spelled with 2 T’s.  They also own and operate Gravatar.  I went to my account at the Gravatar website, and I added the email address that I used when I signed up for an account here at Open Diary.

And then I added my image to that email address on Gravatar.  And Walah! Now everyone can see my image here on Open Diary.  I know this all might seem complicated, but, it becomes easier to understand after you check out Gravatar.com

July 7, 2020

@socialstephen

Remember when I told you I didn’t see your picture here and you told me you see it?  I knew I wasn’t going old…..LOL

July 7, 2020

@jaythesmartone I just woke up. I must be at work in 1 hour.  Yes, I remember you told me that.  It is one of the reasons I looked for a solution and figured out that Gravatar is linked to Open Diary.  🙂