Tea, Biscuits, and Sherlock Holmes

 Lately, I have been watching The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes.  This is the UK version filmed in the 1980s.  I also watched Sherlock. It is the more modern UK version of Sherlock Holmes, starring Benedict Cumberbatch as Sherlock Holmes. Imagine Sherlock Holmes in the modern age, with computers and cell phones, and there you have Sherlock, the UK television series from 2010 to 2017.  Very intriguing! I enjoyed watching both versions of Sherlock Holmes very much.

  Tea has not changed much over the years. The English milk tea consists of black tea, milk, and optionally sugar.  Being the curious American that I am, I went out and bought some black tea. I boiled some water, made some black tea, put a little bit of milk and sugar in it, and it’s surprisingly really good!  I cannot forget the digestive biscuits. Traditionally, you dip the biscuit into tea and eat it that way. Yes, I tried it and it’s very good! 

TV Series ‘Sherlock’ starring Benedict Cumberbatch as Sherlock Holmes, and Martin Freeman as Dr. John Watson. Made between 2010 and 2017
TV series ‘The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes’, starring Jeremy Brett as Sherlock Holmes. Made in the mid-1980s.

Log in to write a note
kat
August 2, 2020

Sounds like a good day

August 2, 2020

Tea is the best! 🙂

August 2, 2020

Have you ever tried mayonnaise with your french fries?  they do that in Amsterdam and Holland. It’s really good if you like mayonnaise.

August 2, 2020

@jaythesmartone Yes, I have tried that.  It’s actually really good 🙂

August 2, 2020

@socialstephen

I also add ketchup and relish…..

September 6, 2020

I also liked the British series also and am currently binge watching another interesting permutation on the character, the US series “Elementary.” I am thoroughly enjoying it.

You’re right, tea can be lovely.
I find the ritual of having tea to be as satisfying as the drink itself.

September 7, 2020

@cobalt Dr. Joan Watson? Seriously? Hmmmm, anyway, thank you for the tip.  I will look more in to it 🙂 

 

September 7, 2020

@socialstephen    Seriously.

September 10, 2020

Made friends with a guy when I was in the service because he was amazed I actually understood how to drink tea. It’s a good thing to know.

September 10, 2020

@tunguska Yes, and it’s traditionally not complete without the digestive biscuits. In America, they are hard to find. I may have to order them online.