Misc.

 

 

Been awhile, I know. I do what most people probably do. I think about things I’d like to record but the urge to actually open up a laptop or switch on the PC just doesn’t strike me.
 
Things have been mostly really good. I had a stint there of nightmares but it passed. One of the more vivid ones: My grandfather had just died (the one that went 2 years ago) and so I was back at what was his house. Somewhere in there I realized my mother had died (though she’s still alive and well) but my grandmother (who just passed last month) was still alive. She was in the kitchen potting flowers on the counter that used to be in there. I was chopping vegetables for supper and turned around to dump the remnants off the cutting board. When I turned back she was gone but the flowers were still there and I realized she was dead. And not just that she was dead but that I was alone, the next surviving generation with no one else to look up to.
 
I woke up crying. It was just such a sad feeling.
 
Happier things:
The baby’s movements are getting more frequent and much stronger. If Zac lays his head on my belly, he’ll kick him in the ear. Haha. It’s so funny. Right now he really likes being diagonal with one end under my right rib and the other in my left hip joint. This position means he kicks my rib a lot but it’s so funny most of the time that I don’t mind it.

31 weeks today. I still feel pretty good but I’m getting so big that moving around feels laborious, especially when I’m in bed. You know when you’re in a parking lot and there’s some teeny lady driving a huge F150 and she has to make a 10 point turn in order to get into a space? Yeah…that’s what rolling over in bed feels like to me. Every so often the baby will move in just the right way so that I can lay partially on my stomach and partially on my side without feeling like I’m squishing him and all my internal organs…that’s the best.   
 
I started a prenatal yoga class last week. It was excellent. I felt so awesome afterward. I need to keep up some home exercises for opening up my hips because that was what made it so amazing. I just felt much looser and more relaxed.
 
I’m thinking of indulging in a pedicure sometime soon, too. I’ve never had one and last night I tried to trim my own nails, almost smothered myself trying to bend over. I’m very grateful to have so many pairs of slip on shoes right now.
 
Got the tickets purchased for Mom, my sister Ari and Lainea to all come out around my due date. Mom will be here two weeks, the others will be here one. I don’t know if they’ll actually get to be here for the birth but we tried to time it late enough that they should be here for the baby. I’m against induction as a general rule but I think I’d consent if he’s still not here when they’re about to leave. I’ll be 41 weeks and some change the day they’re all due to fly out. My office will induce at 41 if you want and they insist if you hit 42 weeks so it shouldn’t be a problem. I’ll give some all natural methods a shot first. I’m really hoping it doesn’t come to that though.
 
 
Kinda Non pregnancy related stuff:
Zac is still just awesome. He more or less took over all the house work. He’s been working from home a lot and I come home to clean dishes and vacuumed carpets. It’s wonderful. I’ve got just a little bit of my energy back here in the last few days and so I’ve picked up the slack somewhat. I’m just incredibly grateful to him for being so helpful.
 
We’ve had an amazing couple of weeks. Two Saturdays ago we saw the Utah Symphony Orchestra perform the music of John Williams. It was a great concert. The conductor was incredibly chatty. He turned around after every piece and explained something about it or John Williams. There was a lot of history and background. I loved it. Before the concert we went to The Cheesecake Factory and walked around Salt Lake. Awesome day.
 
Last Saturday we saw the Piano Guys perform at the same venue. Had incredible seats: 8 rows back, dead center. We were sitting a row in front of the cello player’s wife! He had her come up to play Ashoken Farwell with him on violin…beautiful. They are some mind blowingly talented musicians. If you’ve never heard of them, they are worth looking up. Prior to that we went to our favorite SLC restaurant, Red Iguana, and walked around Temple Square. I’ll never be in any danger of converting but I do genuinely love Temple Square. It’s such a beautiful place. (Nicole, if you fly into SLC during your trip, it is well worth a visit.) Zac was in a photographing mood so he took a lot of pictures.
 
Before the show there was a funny moment. Zac leaned over to me after a lady sat down next to him. He said, “This lady has a big ass.” I chuckled and kind of shrugged it off. Neither of us are really the kind of people to pick on someone for their appearance. When I didn’t really react, he leans over again and whispers, “It’s on me.”
 
I died. Something about the mental image of part of her ass actually sitting ON HIM just killed me. I couldn’t quit laughing.
 
Other, kind of interesting/good news: my cousin, De, text me one day out of the blue and asked what I would charge to edit a book. I told her that depends on who it’s for. For her, she said. I told her I’d do it for free as long as she gave me credit if she published. It’s not a huge deal but I’m actually pretty excited about it. If you knew De, she’s not the kind of person who half asses things. If she says she’s going to do something (for herself anyway) she does it. She text again last night to say she was on Chapter 9. It’s not like I imagine it would be amazing and famous but I’d love the opportunity to edit something serious. If not else, it motivates me to start looking down those avenues.
 
On the job front, it looks like Zac’s company is going to renew their contract here. It’s not in stone but it seems likely. I have mixed feelings about it but Zac made some great points when we discussed it. It does take some pressure off and gives us more time to get together a down payment to buy a place when we move. So in some ways it is a relief. I just need to take a deep breath and relax about it. There’s enough on our plate as it is.
 
Back to pregnancy – I started doing the Hypnobabies home course. I love it. I can’t say with any certainty whether it will work in the end but it’s really relaxing and helpful now.
 
I think that’s all I can cram in here. Hope everyone is well. I’ve made a sorta attempt to note more. I read every day…multiple times a day. I’m just a shitty noter. I don’t know what to say about other people’s lives.

 

 

 

 

site meter

Log in to write a note
May 17, 2013

I’m so glad that you updated, and that you’re doing well! I love your hair, I saw a pic on fb.

May 20, 2013

RYN: LOL at the glitter comment:) I have never heard that before, but man, it fits, doesn’t it?!?! I love Red Iguana too…and I agree…Temple square is beautiful, especially when they get all the flowers in:)

May 25, 2013