Triggered

I was stocking books at my college bookstore today and I ran across a book I had shelved this past semester. It’s in the Young Adult section and it’s called "Sold" and is about a child being sold into prostitution. WHY this book is for young adults, I have NO clue.

The first time I stocked it, it shocked me and really triggered me. This time seeing it didn’t shock me, but it still triggered me. I kept thinking of the things that happened in Prague and how I STILL can’t seem to write about them. I don’t understand why I can’t write about them. Technically, it’s not worse than what happened when I was with my Family in New York. I don’t know what makes Prague so different, other than seeing the girl be killed.

This has really brought me down tonight. I told someone who knows about my past about the seeing the book and I don’t think they realized that it triggered me. They’ve told me that sometimes they forget that I have triggers, which makes it really difficult sometimes.

I guess that’s it for tonight. I hope I can stop thinking about it soon.

Log in to write a note
August 20, 2008

*hugs tight* I get things that trigger me as well..more often than I’d like…it sucks seeing something like that..something so simple as a book, to bring back a flood of unwanted memories and feelings. Should you need anyone to talk to that’s been through something similar, write me. ConnerParker420@yahoo.com

August 20, 2008

You probably can’t bring yourself to write about it because you don’t wanna face it. At least, that’s how it was for me. But, even though it’s painful to write about, once you start, it gets easier.

August 20, 2008

So, should you want, or need to take me up on the offer, I’m always around.