Sandwich Slut

Things have been so busy with work lately that I’ve had time for little else, including preparing meals for myself. So I have taken to ordering sandwiches around town. The brief amount of time it takes to specify my order is about as much off-the-clock social interaction as I get these days and I’ve made the most of it. There are three main places that I patronize.

Subway is, far and away, my favorite. There is a fresh-faced young man that makes me want to launch myself over the glass and molest him. My feelings are no secret. There is one guy in particular who likes to harass me when I come in about "my boyfriend." The most awesome moment was a few weeks ago when the guy who loves to tease was making my sandwich, and my Crush walked out from the back and saw me. He put on some gloves, said, "She’s mine!" and finished making my order. Ha!! I feel like a cougar drooling over him, but… whatever. It’s fun. And he’s so yumtastic to look at.

Then there’s The Farms, a small neighborhood market at which I’ve been shopping for years. Somehow, several months ago, I began flirting with the manager of the deli. I’m not sure how it developed, but once again everyone there seems to know that I’m "his." There was a brief period where I actually liked him, but I’m very much over it and continue to flirt with him just to prevent things from being awkward. He pushed things too far too fast and I had to reign him in. I’m not interested in things turning physical so I try my best to keep things brief when I’m there and I have refused to give him my contact information. But the flirtatious banter continues with each smoked turkey sandwich he makes.

Pavilions is the most recent sandwich crush. I’m a talker. And flirtatious. I’ll flirt with a freaking rock. Not because I mean to! But because I just come off that way. I really mean for it to be friendly, but I usually wind up giving the impression that I totally want to jump into bed with my interlocutor. I didn’t always realize this about myself. It was just within the past few years that Red opened my eyes. But even now that I’ve recognized the pattern, I haven’t the foggiest idea how to break it!

Anyway. So I’m at Pavilions and this new guy starts to make my sandwich and, as always, we start chatting and *boom* it totally turns into flirtation. He’s a Texas transplant and I was teasing him that he brought the cold weather with him and blah blah blah. I saw him again tonight and I could feel him start to ask me out. I wouldn’t let him get that far, but I could just feel where it was going. And… I dunno. I don’t feel like complicating my life right now. I don’t have time to worry about dating. Not yet. Not until things get settled down a little more.

Though, if my Subway Crush asked me out, I’d be all over it. That kid’s eyes just make me melt. And he holds my gaze so long that it makes me uncomfortable, but I’m incapable of looking away.

So. There you have it. This is what’s going on in my world. Working my ass off to become the best assistant on the planet while taking a break every now and then to make googly eyes at a cute guy behind the counter.

Log in to write a note

I didn’t think you were the sandwich artist type .. but then what do I know. I am just way too old to flirt. I don’t even remember how. Or maybe it is cause flirting never worked for me. Remember that Subway has really good M&M cookies.

February 7, 2013

Well all these guys make for a yummy lunch no matter what.

February 7, 2013

Seriously, is there anything sexier than a hot guy who is making food for you? Enjoy them, girl!

February 8, 2013

lol I love it! food and men…perfect combo

February 8, 2013

Where are all these hot sandwich makers?! This is a phenomena that I am unfamiliar with.

February 8, 2013

I hate subway lol I’m not much of a sandwich person to begin with..but I hate subways bread..it’s too bulky or something. Usually, if I eat a sandwich..it’s at home with regular bread..with one piece of meat and one piece of cheese and mayo or miracle whip..I hate veggies and stuff..so sandwiches aren’t healthy for me at all..lol

February 8, 2013

See, I kind of hate that. I talk the same way to anyone (barring people of authority and whatnot, you know what I mean) – only when I talk to guys, it’s interpreted as flirtatious. Says something when we’re still expected to be all quiet and polite around men. But still, nothing brightens the day like a bit of actual intentional flirting heh 🙂 Your world right now sounds challenging and fun.

February 8, 2013

Sounds like a pretty good way to be spending your days 🙂 Working hard and getting to see some eye candy mmmm lol GLad things are going well for you.

RYN: . . Some of my best photographs were taken on Kodachrome. I still remember some of them. Too bad I am such an idiot and I have lost all my original slides and negatives of all of my old photos. But those were wonderful years when I worked in the photofinishing industry. I would love to get back into photography as a career.

RYN: I guess it should say waterpark-ing. We’re staying at Great Wolf Lodge, this huge waterpark facility/hotel. I’ve never been, but apparently it’s almost a resort unto itself.

February 11, 2013

RYN_ hahahaha! I totally did!

“Hey baby, mind if I mash your sandwich!” HA! Did I just type that. Nothing wrong with flirting, shoot that’s what makes the damn world go round, PLUS they say it releases endorphins which is oh so good for you. I had a crush on a kid my kids age, I think we had a past life experience because it was over the top powerful, but (as if I would) once the clothes would come off, he’d be like “naw”. 🙂

February 12, 2013

To be fair, some men interpret a woman just SMILING at them as flirtation. Oh well. Glad you get some eye candy for dessert when you go out for sandwiches!

“She’s mine” I love it!

February 15, 2013

“She’s mine!” Lolllll don’t kill me! I’m reading the title & trying 2 figure it out b4 I read. Interesting how some ppl can actually hold off on dating to get things in order 1st.

February 20, 2013

Adventures in Sandwich Land–now with extra eye-candy! Where I live, we’ve got cowboys everywhere. I love cowboys. I feel like a pervert goggling at some of them (60 year old lady, drooling over jailbait here), but it’s just so dang much fun!

Thank you! And 29 isn’t old enough to be a cougar, girl! Right? *refuses to feel old*

March 6, 2013

ryn: It wasn’t a Moth event, just something based on Moth. I wasn’t familiar with Moth, but now I feel like I should check it out.

RYN: monkeybrains has only left me a couple of notes recently, “thank you” for some quotes posted, and saying she would try out a gratitude phone app I suggested. I’m worried about her too. Plus, on a lot of her entries she’s making, she won’t accept notes. I understand she wants hubby to figure out his own issues, but as I’m sure you’ll agree, this “disappearing” thing he’s doing is way beyond “normal” for depression and it really should take some more intervention on her part, I’m afraid. I guess that’s up to her though, but I’m just afraid if she doesn’t assist or intervene more, he’s going to fall apart and then things will get worse for her. She is such a sweet person. They’ve barely been married for a year! I’m uncertain what triggered this for S. I just want to keep encouraging monkeybrains to hang in there, but also try to help S a little more proactively. This has been going on for far too long now. 🙁

July 23, 2013

ryn: douchecanoe is an amazing word lol 😉 And your sandwich experiences sound way more thrilling than mine haha.

August 12, 2013

RYN: Oh, I’m so glad you liked it! Thanks for reading with its length and all, :).

August 12, 2013

“I wouldn’t let him get that far, but I could just feel where it was going.” This moment is so real! I had a student of mine very obviously flirting with me which is weird because I wear a headscarf now and he’s from a Muslim background too. I mean, people will still comment if you look nice or something, but they usually know to keep it less personal. Boys and their teachers. Anyway, I avoided it*so* much and it still happened. AWKWARD. I love the stories of the sandwich shop boys though, :). I told one of my friends looking for cute boys to check out Panera Bread… They seem to always have somebody way too good looking (and their sandwiches aren’t bad either, I guess).