Friends and money

So you know when a friend is trying to sell a car or a house?

I got some shit to say. My first car was a 1995 ford explorer sport backn in 2012/2013 that I bought from a friend that claimed he drove it from colorado and back to arizona several times, including keeping up on maintenance himself. It was for $1100 and I was stoked. It lasted me just a few months before the transmission gave out. Like it wouldn’t go passed 30 MPH and couldn’t go into reverse. I wanted to do a transmission flush but the mechanic said that it was 50/50 if it was going to go right from how burnt the fluid was. There’s no way in the months that I had this vehicle that the trans fluid would be so burnt that it was black not pink. Had to get it towed away by a scrap yard, got paid $220 for it. Ugh.

Now for the realtor friend. I’ve known her for over 10 years and she’s been a realtor for 15 years or so. Was trying to go through her to buy a house but all, no avail. My husband and I had emergency car issues that need to be taken care of, including unexpected rise in utilities. Took our savings to $5k from $10k. We already went through the whole sha-bang in 2020 when we only had $1k saved. The typical “just keep saving then you can get new buyers home assistance, blah blah blah, talk to your lender blah blah blah” and the infamous question that she asked a couple of times, “do you have family that can lend you money?”…WHAT? I don’t have a random ass rich relative that can lend me $10k-$20k or more….must be a fucking pleasure! 

So she was posting on fb marketplace about rent to own houses and I was like “awesome! all I could find were bullshit websites and people saying it was a scam” and she was excited that I was talking to her again. The first 10 minutes were just her saying the same shit back in 2020 and had the audacity to ask YET AGAIN about borrowing money from a family member! She knows I was raised in a low income household….but still thinks I can scoop up $10k from a random family member. The last 5 minutes was her saying that there’s no homeowner looking to do rent to owns and she hasn’t seen anyone do it in years….WHY THE FUCK ARE YOU ADVERTISING IT! That’s my thing! It’s like going to any store seeing a 50% off everything sign and the employees are like, “nothing is for 50% off.” Some dumb shit. I wouldn’t think that she would waste everyone’s time for some fake ad for your small business. She definitely makes way more money than me since she has clients that can buy houses at $500k+ and my budget is $200k to $300K and that’s pushing it. Living in an expensive town sucks. People say, “why don’t you move?” Bitch! All my money goes to rent and bills and I make $21/hr. My husband and I make a gross $84k a year and we still can’t get a damned house. 

If you have friends that you care about, be real about the situation. Don’t try to be a douchebag to squeeze more money outta them because they’re gonna be generous to you. I don’t expect discounts, but I expect at least the bare minimum customer service. I ain’t any huge corporation many maker, don’t act like I am. You know me, but apparently I don’t know you.

 

OOF! It’s so good to bitch!

Log in to write a note
July 8, 2022

This is the right place for it!!!  I think this person is well I dunno what to call her.  Certainly not a friend or person looking out for your best interest.  There are people who rent to own.  I see them advertised.  Borrow from your family Pfftt.  She has no clue, no brain, and sounds like she wants to take you for a lot and give you nothing but a headache in return.  😎

July 9, 2022

@tracker I’ve been trying to work with her for a couple of years now and she’s literally in it for the money. That’s why she’s not truly helping. She’s used to having rich clients and expects me to do the same :/