Returning home

I’m surprised. I have actually come full circle and started an Open Diary again, it’s been such a long time.

I was addicted to to this website during my teens – being able to style my own front page with poor HTML coding, writing poetry and following the antics of my favourite OD members from around the world made me feel like I had somewhere to belong. It was a sad time when the website closed and I haven’t really kept a proper diary since then.

Yet, here I am. 16 years later I’m back and excited to start writing properly again. I decided not to reclaim my old diaries. Some things are better left in the past and I don’t think I’d like to relive the thoughts of a teenage me.

Life is very different 16 years on. Now 31, married (to the boy I used to agonise over in old OD💖) with two cats. We moved back to my home town from Edinburgh last year with the plan of starting a family. It was a tough move for us both as we left lots of close friends behind, but I’ve found that the ones that matter really do stick with you.  We were still getting settled in our new life when COVID happened and everything has been put on hold.

The truth is, I’m still trying to  figure it all out and OD was always a place I could think without judgement, or censor.

It’s good to be home.

Stravaiger. X

 

 

Log in to write a note
August 28, 2020

Welcome back! I started writing here in 2000 as a teen. It was my safe haven till the site went down in 2014… And now it is my home again! (I cringe at my teenage self but am glad I reclaimed it… it has my whole relationship with my husband whom I loved dearly but left due to his drug use…he recently was killed and so being able to reread or beginnings has been a source of comfort.)

How cool your husband has a connection to the site too! I’m currently dating an amazing man who used to write here too… I was introduced to him several years ago by a mutual friend that I met on here. Crazy.

Everyone here (mostly) is great and I hope you stay! It’s a lovely community and I hope you find what you’re looking for here!

August 30, 2020

@thecriticsdarling thank you! I’m settling in well and despite the change in colours it feels like the same place.

I’m sorry to hear about your husband. That is really special to be able to have such precious memories saved in your old diary. I can see why you would want to keep them :). x

September 3, 2020

Welcome back! I’m discovering that there are so many of us here that used to be here before the site closed. I was here as a teen as well.

September 3, 2020

@smokedragon thank you! I’m definitely still finding my feet with it all, but really enjoying being back. It’s good to hear so many of us have returned!