Work

I have contemplated what I want to do for a long time. Job A I was at for 10 years before I decided it was time for me to go and do something different because they wouldn’t give me the opportunity to grow, develop, and expand my knowledge. I took Job B almost 2 years ago. I love the Doctor I work for, the people I work with and the patients we help. What I don’t like – the organization as a whole. People (specifically talking about my supervisor and the clinic manager) are so toxic. They talk behind ppl’s backs, they will say one thing to your face and another to someone else. It’s just ridiculous. I could go on and on about how it’s such a toxic environment to be in. Luckily our office is a specialty and we are off in our own little world in another part of the hospital and not connected to the main clinic. There are 5 of us on the days that we have clinic and 4 of us on the days Doctor is in surgery. I absolutely love the ppl I work with. We support each other, we help one another, we work so great together. I don’t want to leave but I also feel the anxiety of the toxic surroundings as a whole. When I was hired, I was hired as an Ortho nurse. Not a float. Which is exactly how they’re treating myself and the other nurse I work with, as floats. When doctor is in surgery we catch up on paper work, surgeries, etc etc…well apparently they think all we do is nothing when we don’t have clinic. This is so far from being true. Are there some days that we have extra time or get done with our work early? Yes, absolutely. But when they pull us to float, none of our work is getting done. It’s terrible patient care, it will cause the ortho clinic to fail as a whole, our patients will lose confidence in not only us but it will reflect on Doc also. I hate to toot my own horn but this ortho clinic wouldn’t be where it is today if it weren’t for me. Doc was new to the area and I had never worked in a specialty clinic, let alone being a main CMA for a doctor (Job A I worked in the lab). I built this clinic. I helped make it what it is today and I hate that they take the good employees for granted. You can’t tell me you need two nurses for a provider when said provider only has like 5 patients in 4 hours. In ortho we see 5 patients in like 45-60 min. I dunno, I’m so frustrated. Job A has had some openings and they’ve asked me to come back but I don’t want to get “stuck” like I was for 10 years. There’s no opportunity for advancement. No opportunity to grow and learn new skills. I don’t know what to do.

Log in to write a note
May 1, 2022

Go for the one that will make you grow and happy/ier. Don’t stay stuck in something that’s not serving you well anymore. When unsure, just remember that mental health is as important as physical health. And the less burnt out you are, the more productive you can be.

May 1, 2022

@habibti I agree! It is so hard finding a job that I feel that I would be a good fit. uugghhh