Bummer of a day

This afternoon me and some of the other grandkids and some of the great-grandkids met at granny’s house to pick out stuff of hers that we wanted. All the aunts had set it all out on tables and shelves in the garage. My cousin P picked me up and we went over there together. When we pulled in the first thing I noticed was the For Sale sign in the yard. It almost took my breath away. Then we walked into the house. A lot of stuff has been removed and what was still there was rearranged to stage the house for potential buyers. It doesn’t look like granny’s house anymore.

I didn’t want much. The main thing I wanted was a coffee cup that she used a lot, and the aunts made sure I got that. I also got a cup of hers that I filled with water for her probably hundreds of times. Every time I was over there she’d hold it out to me and say “Get me a little water.” And I happily did. I would’ve done anything for that woman. At one point I got teary and told the aunts that I wanted HER back, not her stuff. But honestly, I wouldn’t bring her back if I could. She’s in a much better place, and she’d be disgusted by what’s going on in this country right now. I know I’ll see her again one day.

We were told that if we found anything that we personally had given her that we could automatically have it back. I didn’t want everything back that I’d given her, but I took back a storage bag and two table runners. I got them for her when I worked at Hobby Lobby. I got my sister the mixing bowls she wanted since she didn’t go. I also got a set of flannel sheets and a really old wood ironing board that I saw up in the rafters of the garage. I gave that to sis. I grabbed a few things for my son and daughter-in-law as well since they don’t live here. My son was her first great-grandchild and he adored her!

I didn’t realize her Bible was in the stuff until my cousin S picked it up. Oh how I wanted that! But S wanted it as well so I just asked if I could see it and then gave it back to her.

When I got back home I got back into my pajamas. I feel like crap…headache, nausea, dizziness. I have some kind of virus that’s kicking my ass. My mom will be here on Thursday and is staying for a week so I hope I feel better by then.

So that was my exciting day. I hope you all had a great day! Much love!

Log in to write a note