Weigh day and other ramblings

So even though I haven’t been doing the daily musings on the 80 Day Weight Loss Challenge, I have still been weighing in every week.  Today’s results…..205, which is down 2.4 pounds!  Today is day 36 of the 80 days, and today’s weight puts me at down 11 pounds total, which is more than halfway to my 80 day goal of 20 pounds…..WOO HOO!!!!!!!

So, remember I said I got the job with AAA?  Well, yes, they did offer me the job, but there’s a BUT….it’s contingent on a background check and drug screening.  Now, I’ve never been arrested, in jail, anything like that, so I’m not worried about that, and I’m not worried about the credit check, and I’m definitely not worried about the drug screening.  What I am worried about is that they’ll find out I left a job off my resume.  It’s the job I worked at in Chicago for 6 months before getting fired for getting fat.  I’m afraid that Lexis Nexis, the company doing the background check, will discover that little omission and tell AAA, and that will make them rescind the job offer for not being honest.  So let me ask you, OD peeps, if AAA does find out about it, what do I say??  Do I act like it was a mistake, that I accidentally left it off my resume (which would be plausible because after that job is when hubby’s job had us moving around a lot to different states and I didn’t work for almost 2 years), or do I be totally honest and tell them the reason I left it off my resume and what went down?  HELP!!!!  

The reason all this worries me is that I already gave notice at the job I have now, telling them that this coming Friday, the 8th, would be my last day, and they’ve already hired someone to replace me.  So if AAA rescinds the job offer, I’m screwed.  I wish I hadn’t given my notice until this background check crap was done with, but I didn’t know it took 5-10 days for them to get the results.  I will definitely be hearing something this coming week….the sooner the better!  And please, if you would, send up a quick prayer for me that this all turns out well.

And it’s Super Bowl Sunday!!!  What’s everyone doing?  Hubby and I are just hanging out here at home.  In a few hours we’re going to pick up some chicken and shrimp and bring it back here before the game starts.  I’m rooting for the Ravens because I absolutely refuse to root for any team that has Randy Moss.

I hope you all have a lovely day and eat lots of yummy food (that’s what the Super Bowl is all about..lol).  Lots and lots of love….xoxo

Log in to write a note
February 3, 2013

Good luck to you…and go Niners!

February 3, 2013

You don’t have to include every job on your resume. You’re human and we all make mistakes. The thing to focus upon is that the majority of your background is positive. My advice is to sit and write out your memory of how you were fired. Honestly think about which parts of the experience were your fault, and then think about how you’ve grown from the experience, and how you continue to grow.

It’s common for people to put only relevant work experience on their resume when applying for a particular position. This is to avoid getting it all cluttered with irrelevant stuff that has nothing to do with the position you are seeking. Don’t worry about it, it isn’t a big deal at all. I work in HR and we would much rather jobs were left off than included just for the sake of it.

February 3, 2013

This will impress your employer if they ask you about it. You’ll be ready for the question; and best of all, you might actually learn something from the exercise. At the moment, “they fired me for being fat” sounds over critical and unrealistic, showing an inability to take responsibility–regardless if there is truth in your story.

February 3, 2013

From my past experience, this just means they will check your criminal records& drug test. Did it say they were checking credit? Did you put that company as a reference? Hopefully they won’t even contact them at all. If they did ask I would say, gosh I forgot all about that place. But I don’t think they will 🙂 If they sent you for the test, I think you have the job lol Can’t wait to find out.

February 3, 2013

I wasn’t finished lol I would love to know how your loosing the weight. Good for you!! Keep it up Hugs turtle

February 6, 2013

ryn: Can’t name this new black kid Ebony. Daisy’s twins from August were one white and one black and I named them Ebony and Ivory (like the song by Paul McCartney and Michael Jackson)!!! Daisy is the goat who died on my birthday…but Ebony looks just like her!!!

February 17, 2013

I found difficulty in the words you used, but I know you mean well. Thank you.

March 19, 2013

your question about your previous job was very interesting, and it was great to read your other noters’ responses. thank you for that, i learned something new today… and you are rockin’ the aaa. love to you!

July 2, 2013

ryn: i am indeed getting your notes! you are so lovely, thank you for noting, as always… and yay to the blackhawks winning the cup! it was really weird to see them win and not hear people cheering outside. not many hockey fans down here in texas 😉 big hugs! p.s. you should write soon! i miss your bubbly, positive entries!