We meet again OD

I couldn’t believe when I got an email that OD was back up and running. I started on Teen open diary in the 90s and then I moved to OD in the beginning of the 2000s, and now here we are again.

Anyway, I recovered my old diary and man, was I an angsty teenager/20-something. I deleted every entry because, honestly, it was pointless dribble.

My new plan is to use this diary as a travel diary. I have yet to find a travel diary app/platform that I like. Most of them are too complicated to use or they are more for people who go on 6 mos vacations throughout Europe. My 1 week trip to Seattle just doesn’t fit in there.

I am 34 years old and have recently discovered my passion for travel. My husband and I go on about 2-3 vacations a year lately- and even with that, neither of us have yet to leave the United States! We both have our passports and we are ready to go, we just haven’t had the opportunity yet. We are just beginning our traveling career late in life because we are just now able to afford it (yay)! We are working our way up to some bigger trips, unfortunately lately, we have had to do some repeat trips due to other family members inviting us along.  Our latest trip was In February, and it was to Disney World with our nieces and nephews. Of course, this has been my 4th trip to Disney in the last 4 years! Plus, we’ve visited Las Vegas multiple times. I feel like we are stuck repeating the same trips. But, we are getting some new ones in this year.

Next on the docket is Gunflint trail- being a Minnesota native, it is a sin that I have yet to hike anywhere on the Gunflint. Then a repeat trip to Alexandria (don’t get me started on that), and in September we are headed to Portland for my husband’s Birthday, and then next January we have booked my absolute dream vacation since I was a teenager, we are going to….wait for it….KAUAI HAWAII. I am so excited I can’t even wait.

So that is that. I am debating if I should back log a few trips we’ve taken in the last few years with some photos. We will see if I have the motivation.

 

Log in to write a note
April 20, 2018

Awesome, welcome back! There’s a Travel Circle already, waiting for your entries 🙂 If you do decide to backlog some trips, you can backdate entries, if you just change the date under the Options section in the entry editor, it will put them in the correct place in your journal.

April 20, 2018

Hey there! 34 is very very young! Honest. Very very. I am delighted to meet you. I travel too. I am vey young, being only 73. This year I will spend summer in the Rockies north of CourD’lene. Not sure I spelled that right but you know what I mean

April 21, 2018

I had never been out of the US until I went to England in 2010- and I was 49 then so you are quite young still! It’s a little overwhelming the first time- actually a LOT overwhelming- but after that it’s much easier. I love to travel too, and don’t get to do enough of it. Hawaii will be wonderful!