Selling the house more difficult than expected

Thursday Sept 8th, 2022

It’s now been going on 3 weeks since we listed our 4 bedroom, 3 bath, 2 story in Illinois. Things were so easy as a seller in the not so distant past, but not interest rates and the generalized slowing of the economy is making things much more challenging. The really agony is the fact that we already are under contract in Missouri where we are moving to, and the time frame is just not lining up now at all.

Remote work and the prospect of finally moving out of the state of Illinois (which I hate) to a move rural and relaxed environment was a prospect I found too enticing to pass up, but it seems this process is not going to go along nearly as swimmingly as I had anticipated. The kids are excited. My wife is excited, I am excited, we just need one person in all of the world to comply and make an offer on our home and it is game over.

While this is not an option I like, I suppose I could take a HELOC on our home to pay the down payment of the new home and move anyway while we wait for a buyer, but that puts me in an awfully precarious position that I am not sure I like. More to follow on that front soon.

Log in to write a note
September 10, 2022

Remote work has proven to be awesome for me and my family. I hope you get the sale done soon!