How does one..

Get on disability??? I need answers ASAP!!! I should have looked into this sooner, but I cannot deal with my sister’s constant mood swings. I seriously can’t! She’ll be fine one minute, and a mess the next. You can calm her down, then she’s frazzled again. She likes to play the victim, and try to manipulate you into doing what she wants. It’s driving me crazy. Mom is not much help, and I know is she wasn’t working so damn much, she could have taken care of this. I need to leave this house ASAP! I’m tempted to stay my ass in NC when I go at the end of the month.

She managed to hurt my feelings this morning and doesn’t show signs of caring because she’s wrapped up in her own feelings. I spent a good part of the morning crying. She likes to keep crying that she has no life like all of her siblings. She complains if we talk about work cause she doesn’t have one. Yet she can look for work. There are jobs that don’t require standing. I don’t know how much longer I can do this. I hope to be able to get her in some disability program before I leave for my trip and start working. I knew this is taking a toll on my mom, but my sister is too selfish to care. I think she should go back on her meds and perhaps a diff dose would help.

I cant do this!! I really can’t. I’ve had enough stress. I hate to see her like this but I can’t do it. Two months of this shit would drive anyone crazy. Lord have mercy. Please!!! 🥺🥺

Log in to write a note
July 6, 2019

I’m not sure, I’m guessing it’s different in each state. I think it would be hard to get her on disability without her approval though. I’m sorry that things are going like this though

July 6, 2019

@heffay well we can at least apply for it and go from there. We gotta do something

July 6, 2019

@sweet-n-simple That’s true. I forgot to say that I also agree about the meds. Obviously, I don’t know exactly what is going on with her, but there are definitely meds that could help

July 6, 2019

@heffay the ones she used to take made her more mean. I’d hope they can find a diff kind or dose that can help with that

July 6, 2019

@sweet-n-simple Well there’s a ton of different meds. I’ve tried several of them. It’s a process in finding the right one. Hopefully, you can convince her to try something new. But trust me, it will probably be hard to do. People have gotten very frustrated with me when I wouldn’t do medication and I was very stubborn about it.

July 6, 2019

Likely the only thing that might work out is Social Security disability. All of the state disability programs require that one acquire their disability on the job. Look at the SSA website and see what it says. The program is called SSI, but it is notoriously difficult to get through the application process. In the meantime, is she willing to work with a doctor for mood altering meds?

July 6, 2019

You apply through Social Security. They want a lot of things after that. Dr visits to prove disability. The first time it will probably be refused. Often it takes a year or more. There have recently been people who died waiting their cases to be heard. It’s not fast and it is not easy.