I survived

Hurricane Florence was just terrible, even at a Cat 1. Thankfully we didn’t lose power, or have any damage to our home or cars, but it’s been kind of rough adjusting. While I’m glad we didn’t lose power, we did lose internet and cable, which sucks ass. The ones who “suffered” the most were my bf and his football loving son, lol. Me, I couldn’t do much online and it was driving me crazy. Even my phone data was acting up, and the only time I could really get good access was in the wee hours of the night, when folks were sleep lol. I couldn’t attempt to do any of the school work for this whole week. The school website had been shut down in preparation of the storm, so accessing it through the website is impossible. However, someone noted that they found the blackboard link via google, and it lets you sign in, and see the work you have to do in the classes. The instructors will be flexible on due dates, until things get back to normal, but man catching up is gonna be interesting. If I had been able to get online, i could have done the work and then turned it in, once school was back up. We got a text message about school starting back on October 1. That is cool, gives me time to catch up. I was able to do some of the work in one of the classes, using my phone as a hot spot when I could. We finally got cable and internet back a couple of days ago, so I can at least access my blackboard and work on some of the projects this week so I am ready once things resume.

Went back to work, starting Friday of last week. It started off slow, but it was still crazy none the less. They could only get so many employees in, some came from other stores to help, but because of lack of staff, they “rationed” the amount of customers they let in. Once people started leaving, they’d let more in. This is not to overwhelm the staff. Customers were truly grateful, even the asshole store manager gave genuine thanks for me coming in. As the days went on it got better, despite the amount of people that shopped this week, we were able to keep up, food and supplies wise. It’s not quite back to normal yet, but we’re getting there. They stopped “rationing” folks two days ago, and its almost back to normal. We are normally a 24 hour store, but due to limited supplies and curfews, we had set start and close hours. It was nice tho, I had mostly night shifts scheduled, but since they closed at 6, I could pretty much come in when I wanted (which was nice). They eventually went to close at 8pm, but I think they are back to normal now. I was told that we work our regular scheduled shifts, which sucks lol, cause that means I have to work til 10 tonight. All in all it’s good. I ended up with more hours than what I was scheduled. This week I was given a couple extra shifts, even working on my unavailable day (just this once lol) and I will have a 40 hour check. I’m happy about it. I’ll have to wait a week for it, but it’s all good. I usually try to save Mondays for my school work (although I do it before work when I have late shifts), but with all this storm mess, i’ll make a small exception lol.

I got my school refund, although it’s short almost $800. I’m guessing that’s due to the fact that i have  class starting next month, even tho i’m full time(due to amt of credits I enrolled for), so we’ll see if/when they’ll release the rest of it. I’ll call FA to find out, but it was nice to get that check when I did. I used some to put food in the house because we were done to almost nothing,  and due to not being able to get to work money was short, but now that roads are opening up and food and supplies are being stocked, we took advantage. I will toss the rest in savings, and stretch that, and still use it to buy any needed school supplies. I hope to be able to pick my book up this week, or at least once classes resume. It finally came in, but it was right before the storm so I wasn’t able to get it lol.

The only really truly annoying thing, other than no cable or internet lol, is the fact that right in the middle of this hurricane shit, I get my first UTI ever. I’ve never had one before, and this was the most annoying and uncomfortable experience of my life. I tried taking that azo shit that dyes your pee, but it barely did shit. So once I found out urgent care was open, I took my ass down there after work, to get that taken care of. I hate taking meds, but I have to take them to help clear things up. I don’t want to deal with this ever again, and I didn’t wanna risk kidney issues from not getting treated. It’s gotten much better, but man having  to be at work with this issue was a pain in the ass. The urgency to pee was annoying as hell. The pain didn’t help either. I’m gonna do everything in my power to NEVER have one of those again.

Log in to write a note