I was like WTF???

Ok I had a really cruel scare this morning. Like I’m still a bit frazzled. So yes, you all know I got offered a job making good money and starting August 5th. I stopped looking for work once I was offered the position, and sent in all the info they requested. I check my emails often, less chance of missing something important. I was looking at my emails this morning and my heart dropped, and I panicked. It was from the company I was offered the job at, and it said they appreciated my interested in employment there, but I was not a final candidate and that they’d keep my resume on file. I’m freaking out like WTF? So thankfully I still had the number the lady gave me when she called to offer me the job, if I had any questions. I called the lady, and while my voice was visibly shaky I was calm enough to ask the lady that answered to look into it. She tried looking me up by name, but for some reason she couldn’t find it. I’m like what happened, did they kick me out the system. She asked for my phone number and was able to pull me up that way. She informed me that all my information still shows that they expect me on August 5th, and that my background check came in clean. She said she would pass that info on to her manager about those emails, but reassured me I’m still expected to start next month. So a little bit of a relief, but still just like “wtf” I mean I’ve never seen that before, and it would have freaked anyone out. Then, after I get off the phone with her I get another email, saying the same thing. I’m like WTF man!

I noticed they had two different position numbers. I had applied years ago, but I don’t recall submitting any other applications to this company. I went to their career website and signed in. I was unable to access my profile, which was weird but I noticed it did that around the time I was offered the job, so I thought nothing of it. Anyway, I was able to look at all my submission and for some reason it showed 4 submissions (one said I applied may 1 and one said I applied june 6), I really only remember doing two applications ever, and the first one was in 2010. I also noticed that the job number I applied for, was different than the two rejection emails I got earlier today. It shows background check last updated June 25. I have no idea what happened, but I have not gotten that email for the job number I apparently got the job through. They really need to get that fixed, cause it scared the shit out of me. I’m like nooooo, I need this job. Why? So yeah, shaken but I will be still starting august 5th, thank God. I know I better not see this job number on email with that evil message. I don’t need anymore bad news.

Log in to write a note
July 10, 2019

Okay, yeah, I can see why that would cause you some issues. It definitely seems like there’s an issue with their system. At least now you know to ignore it if you get more emails like that and that you still have the job.

July 10, 2019

@heffay I hope they fix that soon, so no one else gets freaked out like I did. I already had to wait a whole month to even start. So to get that email wasn’t pleasant. I’m thinking my other applications must have been included with a mass of rejects from other applicants once they were done hiring. It’s just a guess. I’m just glad the lady assured me I still have the job. I don’t see why they’d take it back, my bg is clean lol.

July 10, 2019

@sweet-n-simple Yeah, it’s great that you still have the job. Quite the excitement to go through

July 10, 2019

I guess now you need a good stiff drink?

July 10, 2019

@jaythesmartone I could use one lol