So about this new job

It’s ok, nothing exciting. I’m very grateful to have the job and to be making SOME money, but I’m gonna have to get a second job (working the same day in both places) until a full time with better pay comes along. They didn’t tell me it was part time and I see why they waited til my first day to tell me what my pay rate was. I accepted anyway, because I need money. So it’s $9 and right now I have 20 hrs a week, during training. They said I could pick up hours after training. I haven’t learned the desk part of the job or how to give tours yet, so there’s that. I’m sore from all the cleaning I had to do yesterday. I knew it wouldn’t pay a lot, but damn. They do set hours, so I can work a second job around that once I know what my schedule will be. I think they were just snatching up anyone who applied. They hired a few other people to do the same thing around when I got hired. I do hope I find a full time, before I have to get another PT. In the meantime, I am at least grateful to have the job. At least I’m making some money.

Log in to write a note
January 19, 2020

Gratitude goes a long way in bringing you something even better:)  Congrats on the job!!

January 19, 2020

@teamarea thank you

January 19, 2020

Bastards – they hired a bunch of P/T folks so they would not have to pay benefits to less F/T people. That trend really pisses me off.

Glad you’re working, though. Why not apply for unemployment for the part of the time you are not working there, instead? Some folks do qualify. This way you can still go on interviews and keep looking for a F/T, whereas w/2 jobs you might not have the time to do so…

January 19, 2020

@thenerve I would plan to only work my second job on the same days I work the first to allow for that, plus time for school work, however I hadn’t thought of applying for unemployment though. I didn’t know I could with having a job. I don’t like that they didn’t disclose that info prior to me accepting it though. Like I’ve never had that and I didn’t think to ask up front. I kinda had to take it anyway just to have something, but I don’t see myself retiring there ya know. I hate that trend too where these jobs only want to hire PT to avoid paying benefits yet Emma work you like a dog for that little paycheck. I just don’t wanna get stuck in a deadbeat pay job like I did when I moved here the first time. It’s too expensive to live here for folks to have shitty pay. Even picking up more hours, at $9, it won’t be that much more. Even at 40 hrs (if I got that many in a week). I get that they are a franchise but come on, pay folks a livable wage. Minimum wage here is $7.25 I think.

January 19, 2020

@thenerve that should say wanna work you like a dog, not Emma 😂

January 19, 2020

@sweet-n-simple – Yeah, in some cases (not sure what the criteria is in each state) they allow you to collect unemployment if you’re just getting back to work and have not been able to find a f/t job. Ask the EDD about “back-to-work training”; if you qualify, you will get free training for a new career (they give you a few choices and you can pick), and a monthly living expense, AND when you’re done with the training, they help you with the job search. I did it a long time ago. I’m not going to ask what state you’re in but I am CERTAIN it’s not CA or NY, lol, if the minimum wage is still 7.25 : Have you considered temp agencies and checking into maybe their temp-to-perm f/t positions as administrative or executive assistant? Those pay better.

January 19, 2020

@sweet-n-simple – LOL I got your “Emma” thing. I speak typonese (moreover since I have a damned “smart” phone hahaha)

January 19, 2020

@thenerve yep got two temp agencies going too. Looking for full time with both. I will look into the unemployment route too.

January 19, 2020

I don’t like that they waited to tell you about the pay and hours. I think it’s a low move. If they paid better and what not, they probably wouldn’t have to hide details to get people to work for them. That’s how I see it anyway.

January 19, 2020

@heffay yeah I agree. It’s ok though, I won’t be here long. Soon as I can I’m gonna go to another job. They are too far from my home for the pay to be so low ya know.