So the new job….

I’ve never been a deli fan, but I wasn’t being picky. I just needed a second job, and in general it’s not bad, I just wasn’t a fan of working with food lol. That being said, the job isn’t too too bad. I had some annoying instances, and ran across some drama…typical of that environment lol. Thankfully none of it involved me, I just know I will keep to myself to avoid giving reasons for people to tell my business or snitch. If they talk about me behind my back, I don’t care. I’m not there to make friends, lol.

So day 1 was just me doing 4 hours of computer training. Then they had me come in the next day for a full 8 hours (thankfully I was off from my other job, otherwise I’d have to adjust that lol) to do some hands on training. I haven’t done deli work in 10 years, and even now I learned more about how to do certain things that I didn’t learn when I did this years ago. No one ever showed me how to take apart the slicer when I did it before, not that it’s hard, I just didn’t know how. Someone else had always done that. I see that none of them do things the way they are taught in that video (no surprise there). At some point in this year I will have to take a Boars Head class, whenever they schedule me. I made a few salads and cleaned and swept around between customers. Once things slowed down and it was time for deli to close, we got things cleaned up rather quickly and got done about 30 mins early. So we just left as soon as we were done. I had to ask a manager when I’d come in again, and so yesterday I came in to do the rest of the computer training. I was supposed to be done in 4 hours, but I finished in 2 hrs and 15 mins lol. I asked about my schedule for next week and the manager told me the dept manager would be in after 10:30 am today. Well I called about an hour ago to ask for her, and I was told that she was no longer working there, that she went with another career, lol. I’m like ok great, well can I speak to a manager then. I was transferred to one who went over when I was available and I told them 6am-1 (like i stated on my application), so 3 days next week I will be doing that shift, so on the days I work both jobs, I will just walk across the street to my other job (saves money on uber rides and I could read for class assignments), and those days where I just work the day job I will take the bus home. It’s much cheaper and I get let off right in front of the complex.

I realize that working both isn’t going to bring a shit ton of extra money, but it will definitely help. I get paid every week at the deli job, and every two at the cashier job. I will get both checks next week. It’s nice to know that I will have a paycheck every week regardless lol. So that money will go towards paying off my lowest balanced credit card bills, and my cell. I have to plan homework around that, but it’s cool. As soon as I am done here, I’m going to finish reading this chapter and do the homework that follows. I don’t go in to work today until 5pm. 

Log in to write a note
January 16, 2021

well it sounds like you are going to be doing great and sooner rather then later you will be way up the scale and have the life you want…..

It sounds like you like this deli job…..

January 16, 2021

Good luck with the deli job!