Choices

First of all, I am having a hard time figuring out how to see my friends’ diaries. I click on people who noted me and I can’t get to their pages.  Guess I will have to explore a little more.

There’s been an idea rattling around in my head for about 6 months now I suppose.  I currently work at a job that requires only a bachelor’s degree but has a master’s level pay grade.  This is due to some restructuring prior to my arrival (hey–happy anniversary to me! one year at my new job today!) I love my job and I love the program I work in, and I love the agency I work for.  The thought that I have been tossing around is whether or not I need to get my Master of Social Work degree (MSW.)  I currently have a BSW and a Master’s degree in Health Education.  However, MSWs are way more marketable.  If I had my MSW and something happened to this program or I decided I wanted to do something else, I would have tons of options in this agency and beyond.  I could even do private practice therapy if I wanted to (which…uhhh…I DO NOT want) I did the pros and cons list yesterday and the pros definitely seem to outweigh the cons.  Obviously added debt is a huge con.  Lots of time spent away from my family for 2 years while I am working full time and doing grad school (again…UGH) is the other major one for me.  My husband is supportive and says that he will help out with our two daughters (12 and 5) at home.  The major con for me is the sort of delayed gratification. If I go right now and I pay for it right now, I don’t necessarily make more money right now.  It only affords me the potential to do so later if I so choose. A big plus to going right now is being proactive so I am not left in a lurch should something happen down the road.  As for my current MSHE, it’s hard to find a job using it that doesn’t require me to either start over basically at entry level or get a nursing degree.  Neither of those options is very desirable.  So I am left with a very pretty, very expensive piece of paper and a few letters after my name. From the outside, the choice seems very logical.  But it most certainly does not feel that way.

 

~Tav

Log in to write a note
January 30, 2018

Decisions decisions. If your current job is pretty stable, maybe you have more wiggle room to wait to start a MSW? Bring in some do-re-mi before giving it all back. 😉

January 30, 2018

Hey, there! It’s good to see you on the front page. Sounds like exciting prospects on the horizon for you. Tough choices, though. Personally, I would be wary of taking time away from the girls. Believe me when I say, the next six years with K is going to FLY by. I can’t believe my boy is a senior in high school already! I know you’ll make the right decision for your family, though. Good luck. 🙂

February 27, 2018

I don’t exactly USE my master’s degree but I don’t regret it either…even though we’ve JUST paid off my loans :p