Look Who the Cat Dragged In

lilypie first birthday tickers

 

 

 Hola!

 

 

 Hey everyone–ummm if there are still people who read me.  I can’t believe it’s been a month since I’ve written.  We just finally got internet AND I got a few moments to myself to actually use the computer.  It’s almost 7am and the rest of my family is sleeping.  I am about to shower and go finish up my Christmas shopping.  

Things that have gone on in the past month:

–We moved into our own (rental) home the first week of December. His uncle had asked us to leave so we scrambled to find an affordable place so we wouldn’t have to move in with my parents.  That wasn’t the right place for us and we were tired of the temporary moves. Things are a little tight but we will make it.  I haven’t taken many pictures because we are STILL unpacking. If you are on my facebook, which I think most of you are, then you’ve seen the couple that I have snapped.

–Kathryn got strep throat the week before I started work.  It ended up transferring to me in the form of a cold and so I spent my first week of work with tissue in hand at all times.  I’m over it now. 

–I started working December 10.  I interviewed for a different job but it wasn’t a good fit–as evidenced by the fact that they didn’t call me back and I’m not the least bit disappointed. What IS disappointing, however, is that the job that I wanted in the first place–the sex educator job–called me for an interview on my second or third day of working at Diplomat.  I debated and fretted and discussed it with H but ultimately we decided that I should decline the interview. That job is a contract position and comes with no benefits at all.  Granted, we have medical/dental benefits through H at the moment, but there is no longevity to that job. If they don’t get funded again next year, then I don’t have a job again.  I just decided that after the year we’ve had my family deserves some stability.  Despite it being low paying, the growth rate is exponential and people who hired in as TEMPS a year ago are already in charge of departments that didn’t exist when they started. It’s not looking to slow down anytime soon so I am confident that after I put in my six months at entry level, it will be easy for me to move up within the company.  The job seems a bit mundane but the people there are wonderful, the benefits we have a great, the atmosphere is positive and I feel really good there. 

–Anna started daycare when I went to work. Thankfully we found a lady that H’s family has known for his whole life and so we are leaving her with someone we trust.  Anna has done great there. She loves all the kids and is learning so much.  We are going to start trying to transition her from co-sleeping and into her crib. I’m not sure I’m really ready for that. Night time is the only cuddle time we really get during the week, but man do I miss my husband. I miss cuddling and I miss sex that isn’t hurried or awkward because baby is on the other side of the bed (she totally woke up last time and we were a bit too far into it to stop lol) 

–Anna turned six months old on the 18th of this month. Where has the time gone?  She isn’t doing a lot yet but she can grasp things pretty good and bring them to her mouth, she is trying to sit up, she started sucking her thumb, she likes applesauce but not so much avocado or bananas.  She caught a cold from me and from being in daycare I’m sure, so she isn’t really interested in eating much right now.  She barely takes her bottles. I’m doing the saline drops and the nose sucker. I can’t wait until that’s over, she’s so miserable when I have to do that.  Other than that, she’s doing well.  We are excited for her first Christmas!

–Kathryn is going to California with her dad the day after Christmas. I am equally excited for her and a nervous wreck.  I am glad she gets to meet her dad’s side of the family but man I am going to miss that girl.  I know she will have fun and I know that J will take care of her but I will be glad when she gets back home on the 30th.  

–H and I are doing well given our situations.  It’s been a bit stressful moving right before the holidays and me starting work. Our house is still very much in boxes and we won’t have time this weekend or next to get much of it done with the holidays being here.  

I suppose that about sums it up.  I hope everyone has a great holiday!!
~Tav

 

 

Log in to write a note
December 24, 2012

This didn’t show up on bookmarks (your next one did!) so must be OD being a pain. Good to hear from you and yay for a new house and job! 🙂

December 24, 2012

I don’t think this showed up on my bookmarks either. :o/

December 24, 2012

I never even saw this! Stupid OD. Glad you guys are getting settled!! 🙂

Glad things are going well. Or at least better then they have in a long while.

December 24, 2012

So glad you’re settling into a better routine!

December 24, 2012

I never saw this til your other one showed up asking what was up!! How exciting for K!! And stability sounds really good. *hugs* I’m so glad you are in a place of your own again. That was so hard and stressful on you!!

December 25, 2012

I’m so glad things are going well for you! I do keep updated on you through facebook, but I miss your long entries complete with explanations! Now that you have internet, you’ll have to do better! 🙂

Stupid OD. I knew MOST of this stuff from FB, but it was nice to see an entry.:)

December 26, 2012

I’m reading! 🙂

January 8, 2013

so glad you hear you like your job so much! 🙂 lucky k. going to california.