D is for Dennis …

and we met at an on-campus caberet in 1982.  It wasn’t love at first sight though hahahaha In fact, he was very much interested in one of my best friends, but she wanted nothing to do with him, so I played the go-between …. hiding her in the bathroom and telling him I didn’t know where she had gone.  So highschool ahahaha  As if he knew I was pulling his leg, he waited at a table near the bathroom.  Eventually she Had to come out, and he chased her …. and I mean, literally ‘chased’ her through the crowds of people, until I lost track of where they had gone.  My first impression of my future husband was obnoxious, but that is so far from the truth and I learned over the years that when he wanted something, he went for it 110% and didn’t give up until he got it.  As it turned out, he didn’t ‘get’ my best friend, even as a one-nighter, but Our paths had crossed and that’s how our story began.

University life was far from just studying and going to lectures.  I learned how to drink and party hard and Still go to lectures ahahahahah although drinking and partying became my priority (oooops) and I drank my way out of University after only one year.  Dennis became friends with Matt, one of my life-long friends from grade school, so by association, the parties I would go to would be the same parties Dennis would be at.  It’s interesting as I’m writing this that the chance of us meeting in a University of about 20,000 students, seems to have been destined-to-be.

Even though we saw each other at parties and had mutual friends, I didn’t really know him very well in that first year.  Oh sure, I recognized him and knew his first name, but that was about it.  We were just two people going to the same University.  We did however, have one more thing in common and that was Matt.  I smile as I consider how important a role Matt played in two people lives, and I’ve sent him a message today on FB asking for his memories of Dennis.

Log in to write a note