Drawing class …

… started yesterday, and while this isn’t the finished piece, I thought keeping track of its creation would be interesting.  The piece of information I gleaned from the instructor is that a drawing starts out with light strokes and the image builds with each stroke, darkening where we are confident of what we want in the finished picture.  I’ll admit I slipped into a “self-discovery” mindset and compared drawing a picture to life … we start out as light pencil strokes, and we build ourselves over the years, erasing what we don’t like, darkening the strokes of what we do like … however, I am unsure if we really get the opportunity to admire our “finished” self because death is sneaky.  But then as the woman in my drawing started to reveal herself, I realized the enjoyment is in the revealing, the shading, the tweaking … the creation.  We’re not allowed to use erasers in class because there are “no mistakes”.  I desperately want to erase her feet hahahaha and that’s where I stopped drawing, and will return to her next week … maybe her feet won’t look so … uhhmmmm idk … I just don’t like her feet LOL

Log in to write a note
March 5, 2020

I think this will turn out better then you think….So far I like what you have done.

March 11, 2020

@jaythesmartone

Thanks J:)  Drawing class is today so we shall see how she develops …

March 5, 2020

I think it’s looking good so far. I say just enjoy the process of drawing. When it’s finished you can see what areas you need to improve on and practice them.

March 11, 2020

@heffay

Thanks H:)  I have Lots of room for improvement when it comes to drawing and painting, but I so very much love the feeling of creativity that I really don’t mind if some of my creations aren’t super-cool-fantastic.

March 5, 2020

LOVE THIS – I took a lot of art classes in college…………best and most awakening time of my life. I built so many skills listening to the teachers. I loved figure drawing. I was never among the best in the class, but I did evolve drastically over the course of the class.

March 5, 2020

Oh, and  – don’t get distracted by the feet. it is a shell of a shell. push forward, trust, zoom out and do not over analyze.

March 11, 2020

@zucchini

Yes!!! Thank you Z!! Today is another class:)  FYI (if you’re interested) … when I first started getting to know my inner child, it was suggested I draw a picture of her … it was a little girl sitting with her knees to her chin and her arms wrapped around her legs (I still have the drawing somewhere); this is the same girl, only all growed up Lol … and while she’s in the same position as my first drawing way back, she’s changed a whole lot on the inside and I hope as my drawing now unfolds, subconsciously those changes will be revealed in the finish piece.