For the record …

… there has been a series of cats through my house since November. Well, only three, but it was an interesting experience to wander through, and worthy of mentioning.

Snoop, my ‘old man’, turned 18 this past June and had been showing signs of old age and potentially a further health issue. I tried different food and different water because I felt like he had a digestive problem. He was distressed occasionally when he needed to poo. I was in the space of saying goodbye to him since Summer, even though I don’t think I realized it at the time. I think I was processing the decision I was making — to have him put to sleep. It wasn’t a difficult decision, but it was still a shibby one to make. We spent a glorious summer in our backyard. Whenever I would sit at the patio table, he would join me in the cool grass underneath. I talked to him about things I would Never tell anyone … first interesting point … pets are truly the best secret keepers and vent listeners and do so with absolutely no judgment. I told him everything. Snoop was like a journal with a heartbeat and even though I don’t have any tangible record of what we discussed, he helped me process through a lot, and I mean a LOT, of my shit this summer.

One day in early November I was getting ready for some writing … I sat at my desk and he sat on my lap … not unusual. Then he turned his head like only cats do, and looked me in the eye. Whoooosh! He was communicating with me!! I gave him a gentle hug and he told me that my decision was a good one, and he approves hahahaha that sounds very businesslike, but that’s how it went down. He was at peace with saying goodbye and I accepted that and felt at peace with my decision. We said thank you to each other for sharing life together for nine years … yep, we adopted him when he was nine, so he’s had quite the life … NTS – reach out to Carla about his life with her Mom for expansion on a story idea. On November 6, we went on a drive to the vet and was the calmest he’s ever been in the vehicle and in the room while we waited for the vet to come in. We were together in more than a physical sense which was absolutely lovely. I couldn’t have asked for a nicer way to spend the last minutes with my ‘old man’, my best friend, and … a connection with Dennis which always makes me smile when I remember the look on his face when I brought Snoop home, and then watched the two of them become fast buddies over the years … sigh … I’m happy I’m writing about this:)

I had a hole already dug in my backyard. Another interesting point with this little slice of life … I had dug the hole way back in 2017 with the intention of planting some sort of tree or bush, but never did. It’s almost as if the hole was for Snoop all along. When I laid him in, with the sheepskin he loved to lay on so much, he fit perfectly hahahahaha omg that sounds so weird, but it’s true and very cool! The day was brisk and I’m glad I ‘prepared’ for his burial with a wheelbarrow full of dirt, rocks, and the best part, a steel wheel I brought from the acreage when I moved into town. I said a final blessing and will find the perfect solar light to finish off his place … Snoop’s Place … maybe a little sign too. Two days later we got dumped on with four feet of snow … not just a winter blanket for him, but a duvet!

I knew I wouldn’t wait very long before visiting the SPCA for another cat, which is the next piece of this slice of life, but for now, this is Snoop 😻

 

 

Log in to write a note
January 15, 2021

I like to think that snoop is much happier and not in pain anymore…I am sorry he is gone.

January 15, 2021

@jaythesmartone

Thanks J! It was a beautiful way for us to say goodbye, and I believe he is at peace.

January 15, 2021

Sorry about snoop love the name

January 15, 2021

@itsjustmarina

Thanks T! He came with the name and didn’t really snoop at all LOL but it just fit, so we kept it after adopting him. Your cat is a sweetie too!

January 15, 2021

@teamarea thanks I just posted 2 deprecate new photos of my cat on my diary here at OD. My cat is extremely spoiled he sure acts like it

January 15, 2021

cute cat

 

January 15, 2021

@ihavenoarms

Thanks! I don’t think there’s an uncute cat LOL Do you have a cat other than the tattoo?

January 16, 2021

@teamarea  I had a  big  orange  tabby cat for over 15 years but had to have her put  down about 4  years ago she  stopped  eating and  lost  her  eye  site the  tattoo I have is a tattoo of  her I got  when she  was  still alive   the tattoo artist   did it from a  photo of  her I  token to  him  he did a  great job

January 15, 2021

I am glad that you were able to say goodbye and you both were at peace with the decision. I am sorry for your loss though.

January 15, 2021

@heffay

Thanks H🤗 I can look at his picture and still feel his personality, and sometimes still catch myself talking to him … even though I have a new kitty;)

18 years for a cat is an eternity! He had a will of a giant to have lived so long. He must have been well cared for and happy as your friend, which says a thing about your love of him. Friends now, friends forever. Love your writing, too.

January 18, 2021
January 19, 2021

Snoop was such a handsome guy and very lucky to be adopted as an older kitty. Thank you for giving him companionship and memories for the years he had left. You were a good mom!

January 21, 2021

@hannah_banana0012

Yes!! Handsome! and a cuddler:) although he never did appreciate any of my jokes ahahah would just look at me like, “really girl? you think That’s funny?”