I had a video …

… call with a woman from Switzerland yesterday morning … free for 20 minutes.  I found her through a site called TrueSelf based on the Enneagrams and when her email came through with this offer, I figured what the hell … let’s find out.  It was a very good call and in a short 20 minutes, she helped me to understand that I leave money matters to the very end because I love the feeling of adrenaline … makes sense.  She suggested I push the energy and push the energy and push the energy to the limit before taking care of business … limits being disconnect notices, lien on my house, bankruptcy, out-of-control credit card bills, etc.  I’m so tired of learning money lessons, and no matter how much I try, I still fuck up … but … that doesn’t mean I’m gonna stop trying.

I have a dude who owes me $1,300. for treating his hot tub for that last year.  I’ve treated his tub for years and we’ve always had a good relationship, but now he says he’ll pay and he doesn’t … he doesn’t respond to my texts … he comes into town but doesn’t contact me to meet and settle up.  I’m to the point where my texts are getting abrupt and assertive, and it pushes my limits because that’s an aspect of myself that doesn’t show up very often.  I spoke with Bob yesterday and asked if there was anything I could do legally even though my tubs are paid to me in cash.  He said small claims court is an option and the judge only cares about the agreement I made with this dude, not the tax end.

To circle back to the Enneagram, I am a solid 9 … I don’t like confrontation … no doubt in my mind about that.  However, I’m at a point in my life that I’m sick and tired of being a door mat.  I hate the feeling of being taken advantage of, and yet have allowed that to happen throughout my life so it has become habit.  I work hard and ask little in return, I smile even when I’m crying inside, I’m as flexible as a rubber band and will change my plans to align with others, I rarely say no and when I do, I feel guilty and selfish …… all these things are habits of self-sabatoge.  It seems I have a low sense of self-worth, subconsciously telling myself I am not worthy … which I totally know I am, but my behaviours say something completely different.

So where did that come from?  I grew up in a stable and loving household.  Money was never a problem … that I was aware of anyway.  I was never really shown the value of money though I think … my parents would always ‘take care of things’ for me … even after I moved out … and more recently, the Huge trigger awhile back when Mom searched out prices of lumber for my SheShed.  I can still remember how I felt and how deep it went.  So that’s part of it for sure, but not the big IT.

Circle back to the lady from Switzerland and her notion that I like the adrenaline rush from pushing my limits.  It doesn’t always have to be about driving fast, or bungee jumping, or whitewater rafting etc.  Although I Do like driving fast and I WILL whitewater raft maybe even next summer, but for me it’s money, pot and alcohol aka addiction, and sex.  Those three are so intertwined with my sense of worth, or lack thereof.  I have unhealthy relationships with all of them and they affect my relationship with myself and with others …. oh man … it’s like a maze!!  Interestingly enough, I feel like I’m finding my way out even though I’m kinda confused about where I am in it.

And then I choose to quit my job hahahahaha oh Lord, what is in store for me now??  Funny thing is, I feel like I’m honouring myself by quitting, even though I’m just starting to see money in my bank account at payday, rather than none.  I don’t feel valued where I work … that’s pretty much it in a nutshell, so I’m just gonna roll with the consequences of my decision to quit … and consequences aren’t Always negative.  In fact, it feels like something really amazing is on the horizon.

Time and attention

A little often

No rush

Gently with feeling

I can do this

Log in to write a note
November 21, 2019

It’s funny (and not funny) I think how much we pick up from our parents in our own relationship with money – I know I struggled with this, especially earlier in my life, because like you I had never seen anything in my parents’ relationship that had to do with money (good or bad).

November 22, 2019

@thediarymaster

When I watch my grownup kids now and how they manage money, I see how their upbringing affected that, and thankfully they seem to be making waaayyyyy better choices than their parents did 😉

November 22, 2019

@teamarea that’s good at least!

November 21, 2019

I grew up in what I call a nerdy family.  We didn’t drink or do drugs.  The only time I remember my dad having a drink was at my 10th birthday at a restaurant and he gave me a sip.  I think because I was 10.  My parents use to smoke but quit when I was 10 I had always thought it was because of my nagging but my dad quit because my idiot Uncle said he would give him a $1000.00 to quit but never got it and my mom quit because she wanted to.  Me on the other hand grew up doing the opposite of what my parents did.  I tried pot more then once and I use to drink like a fish on the weekends then when I lived with my ex and hubby later I still drank.  But more often because my parents were not there.  then I had my son and I have quit since especially since the ex had left.  Now if I drink twice a year and I don’t get drunk ever because I don’t like me when I am drunk.  And yes I have “lent” thousands of dollars out to my so called friends and them saying they will pay me back but never did so I had no option but to file for bankruptcy.  Now I have two credit cards because I have worked hard to raise my credit and I don’t spend more then $100.00 on either of them in total.  And I have become what I call selfish and saying no most times when it comes to helping people out or giving them a “loan”

It’s a very hard lesson to learn but it’s even harder to make people think I hate them for not helping out but for me I would rather them hate me then me doing with out because they don’t seem to realize that I am poor and I do need to have that money for my own survival.

I think so far you have come a long way and knowing is the first step and I know in the end it will be all good for you.

November 22, 2019

@jaythesmartone

Thanks J!  I used to say that money was evil, but money matters because it’s kinda necessary to live.  I think it’s more the feeling of being ignored and taken advantage of that is getting to me more than the money he owes.  If he’s on dire straits, then just say so.  I’m not that hard to get along with.

Learning to say no isn’t easy to begin with, let alone when it comes to helping others financially.  Well done you for persevering!  I don’t think it’s selfish at all.

November 21, 2019

I saw this on the front page and was eager to read it because I’ve never heard anyone talk about Enneagrams before. I need to look up and find where I landed because I don’t remember. I’m very rusty on the subject but I know I have all my papers dealing with it.

Anyway, back to your entry. That call sounds very interesting. I had never considered talking to someone for advice who does it based on or inspired by Enneagrams.

With the hot tub thing, do you think it’s an adrenaline thing or an issue with confronting people. I’m very bad with confrontation. I’d probably prefer to just lose the money than have to confront him. This is why I’m not running a business.

As for the job, I think you put your happiness first. Which is good, but can be risky. I’m sure you’ll find a way to make things work out.

And I also understand about your parents. My dad is very good at so many things. So when I have car trouble, I’ll have him look at it. The thing I wish I had done was to be there with him and learning for myself, so that I wouldn’t need him.

November 22, 2019

@heffay

The Enneagrams fit so well with the self-discovery journey I’m on.  I have five books I’m using at the moment, ‘The Wisdom of the Enneagram’ is one, and it’s not as heavy as the others so provides a nice balance.  Hope you find your papers … I’m curious to know what number you are.

The call was quite good and I know if I want another one, it’ll cost money … still waiting for an email on that.  With quitting work, not sure if I’ll pursue, but it’ll be there if and when the time comes.

Definitely confronting people is the lesson with the hot tub dude.  My texts and one phone call to him have been assertive and then I spend hours afterward feeling like shit for confronting him … and that’s where the lesson is.  I’m not being rude to him.  I’m not calling him names.  I don’t use profanity.  I’m basically sticking up for myself, and what’s wrong with that?  Nothing, but the emotions involved are incredible … add money to the whole thing, and I’m freaking out.

I don’t mind taking a risk for my happiness … hmmmm thank you:) A thoughtball is forming around that.

It’s never too late to learn for yourself and your dad is still around to learn from;)

November 22, 2019

@teamarea I will let you know when I find the papers. I saw them while I was packing up for the move. I haven’t gotten as invested in it as you. I did it for school to find my personality. And I wrote a speech about it. But I haven’t read books about it.

I hope I inspired a good thoughtball.

November 23, 2019

@heffay

please do … it’s cool you did it for a school project and I hope you find your papers and anything else you’re looking for because of the move.  Sometime though, as much as it hurts, we need to let things go.

You really did inspire a good thoughtball:)

November 22, 2019

I hope you have amazing consequences.

November 22, 2019

@poisonnoir

Thank you 🤗