The past few days …

have been just a wee bit interesting.  I was digging holes for the trees I bought, when my phone rang.  It was Jason R. from work and he asked if he could give my number to Thecla, and I’m like “hell ya!!”.  Omg, Thecla from highschool tracked me down.  Not that we haven’t bumped into each other over the years here and there, but it’s been at least five since the last time that happened.  She called and asked if we could get together for coffee, and being all stinky and sweaty from yard work, I suggested she come to my place.  When she arrived and we hugged, it was as if the years had instead been only weeks since the last time we saw each other.  She is one of those friends:) and what an absolute gift that is.

Of course, the first thing to talk about was Dennis, and she was kind and compassionate when I told her what happened.  I held my emotions in check, mainly because I have just come out of a grieving cycle and it’s easy to slip back in to it.  She kept saying how good I look, and competent ahahahaha now that’s a word I didn’t expect.  She’s been on her own journey with her parents health failing, her dad passing away, and how she crashed hard to the point of having to stop working.  Two hours went by in the blink of an eye, and we barely scratched the surface of catching up.

After she left, I went back to digging holes, and thought about how we never know what the next moment will bring us.  From walking into the kitchen and finding your husband dead on the floor, to digging holes and the phone ringing because a long-lost friend has tracked you down.

And then there’s Matt …. omg, my dear friend Matt.  Since starting to write about Dennis and my story, and leaving off with trying to connect with Matt, which didn’t get anywhere through facebook, my next step was to contact his sister.  A few days ago, I got a text in the middle of my night from Matt, informing me that his Mark had passed away … and then a second text with his phone number and email address along with “how do you deal with losing your spouse????”  Wow!! Talk about the Universe being involved …. sometimes under sad circumstances:(  I felt that he was totally lost and confused, so when I responded I didn’t wrap it in cotton candy, but told him that losss and grief suck, and somehow we deal with it.  I recommended not making any big decisions, and some other stuff, but it was that that resonated with him … making decisions on his own … sigh I remember …….. and I also remember talking to Dennis, knowing that our connection wasn’t gone, it was just different … so that’s exactly what I texted back to Matt, and it helped:)  I don’t push my beliefs on people, but I also don’t hide them either.  I will text him today to check in.

So in a matter of days, two old and very dear friends have come back into my life.  How does it get any better than that and what else is possible?

Log in to write a note