TotW66

This is the first time I’ve contributed to a theme of the week, and have always been impressed with the depth of the questions as well as the responses from OD members.  I love discovering bits about myself, especially when it comes from something someone else has experienced and written or spoke about … a nudge is what I call it … and these themes are the same … they give me a reason to pause and think.  This one hit home because I’ve taken a big risk recently in leaving my job back in December, but this is asking what is one risk I believe is worth taking in the months ahead and what will be my first step …..

Leaving the workforce was for many reasons, but the risk I will take in the months ahead is launching my website and blog, and to complete and submit my book for publishing.  The ‘ideas’ have been simmering for about four years, and now that I’ve done something tangible (resigned from my job), I’m at that WTF are you doing? and WTH do you think you are anyway? What makes you so special that you would attract a readership? and support yourself doing so?  It’s all just basic self-doubt and all that goes with it.

The first step is to maintain focus on what I want to do and not give up … every day I do something to feed my goal, sometimes for only a few minutes and sometimes for much longer.  I do see this as an ongoing step however, so the first BIG step is to make a phone call to GoDaddy, the provider I have secured my website through, and ask for guidance on where and how to start.  Not sure why making that phone call feels scary, but it does ……

Log in to write a note
January 31, 2020

This kinda reminds me of when I want to start walking up the hill…the first step is always the hardest but once you get about half way up the hill it doesn’t seem so bad and I wonder why I complained in the first place.

I know you will get everything you are striving for and you will be really good at it….

February 3, 2020

@jaythesmartone

Thanks J! You are always so supportive ❤

January 31, 2020

The first step is to take the first step, as a friend of mine used to say 🙂 You can be great at it, good luck!

February 3, 2020

@thediarymaster

Thank you DM for the vote of confidence!  First chapter is underway …

February 3, 2020

Oh, and the call to GoDaddy is scheduled for Wednesday 😊