Ever Changing Life

This is the first post I’ve made to OD in absolute ages. Most of the time when I tried to bring up the web site to even read my favorites, I couldn’t get the site to open up. Frustrating…

Tonight I finally managed to get the site to open up and it wouldn’t accept my password! Arrrgh. O.k., I can do this. LOL Keyed in the magic information and voila! here I am.

I’ve been doing a lot of sewing lately — can’t post photos for now because it’s a HUGE surprise for a very close family member, but it took me the better part of two months, working every single day. Whew! Now I have to create a label for it that won’t run. Apparently, the things I’ve been printing out on my HP Photosmart Printer aren’t colorfast. By stroke of good fortune, I happened to have another printer, and it happens to be an InkJet printer, which is the kind of printer that is recommended for printing labels and clothing patches. I spent the better part of an hour getting the printer set up only to discover that the ink cartridges have dried out. Where’s those dominoes that I know are falling in the background?? One thing after another. I have my design all ready, fabric and fusing material are cut to size and awaiting a hot iron. I won’t get the fabric ready for printing until tomorrow after I’ve made a trip to the Office Supply store for new ink cartridges. I’m hoping they’re a lot less expensive than the ones I buy for my other HP. AND, the new printer only has 2 ink cartridge slots, whereas the other printer has no less than 5 slots! (one for each color and two separate blacks–photo and text). The cheapest I’ve found the sets of the other inks is $69.99 at CostCo and it only includes the three color cartridges and a photo cartridge. I have to buy the black text cartridges separately and they come in sets of 3 and are over $50 … You and I both know that the way the printer manufacturers get to our pocketbooks is through the ink. <shaking my head here> DH has been printing 4×6 borderless photos of airplanes. Many, many, many photos of airplanes–two sets of cartridges over the past 30 days and he’s getting warning notices that one of the newly replaced colors is running low. HP printers are ink hogs to the max!

Other than this, things have been going well. We’re supposed to see rain tomorrow, but the newspaper says the chance of rain is down to 30%. But that’s not bad at all — one day last week it was supposed to rain and we had a 7% chance of moisture. (can’t call what we get rain because it’s less than a tablespoon, collectively.) It’s officially Fall here, and the trees are, for the most part, cooperating by turning all the beautiful colors of Fall. Awesome… we have some very colorful trees in our neighborhood. And speaking of trees, the trees we planted a few months ago are alive and doing well, even though some of them got transplanted and went into a slight shock for a while. And, my father-in-law’s geraniums are looking especially good with lots of lovely flowers and bright green leaves. We do seem to have a problem with something eating the leaves off the tops of one particular tree. DH says he thinks it’s night-time snackers in the form of deer. I have to agree… so today he added another 18" to the wire mesh that surrounds the tree. We’ll see what that does to the leaf-eater! 😉

Not much else to report so will close this with love and blessings. Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them — life is beautiful, even though it can be extremely painful at times.

 

 

Log in to write a note
October 9, 2013

OD has been really hit & miss lately. Today it is spot on so far.

October 9, 2013

Love indeed. Why not take the fabric and a page with what you want printed to the nearest copy place. 🙂 It’s awfully good to see you.

October 10, 2013

Glad to have you back! Hope to see you more often!