5 seconds rule

I often have hard time to concentrate to finish my task, write “focus” on my note and start working but my brain is looking for something different….I guess I am not feeling pressured enough to finish those tasks…Surely, I remember that my mind was fully occupied to take exams to get better grades. Thus, I do not have much excuse, except I may have some conditions to not be able to focus on my tasks…ADHD? Since I do not know the presence of  my true condition, I don’t want to use the term for myself to make another excuse (if someone suffers from this condition, I am not talking about you). Anyway, I set the rule today and tried to work on my writing, it worked quite good! I am absolutely not sure it will work tomorrow….However, this is how I did. It is simple, I just counted 1, 2, 3, 4, 5. Go! It is like a moment you waited for the short-distanced race (100 yard)….getting rid of unnecessary thoughts for the good start….Hmmm  If I think of it, this is something I cannot control (I depend on someone giving us an “On your mark, Go! sign”, it could be the reason to increase my focus as well. Anyway, 5 seconds rule worked well so I will start writing my manuscript again. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5!!

P.S. I wonder how people improve their focus, if you have a good tip or tips, please share with me 🙂

Log in to write a note
kat
August 2, 2020

I do lots of mind puzzles…  I try to do the as fast as I can

August 2, 2020

Thank you for your tip, Kat! I will try to find some puzzles to practice then 🙂