English Me: 1

I want to start this series “English Me” because simply I’m so embarrassed with my low English skill set and very shy (too much stupid proud for nothing) to ask someone to correct me….it is getting harder as I age too 🙁 I read a lot of materials at work and try to pay attention when I encounter unknown words or unclear phrases, I keep them in my note but often leave them behind….Thus, I want to become familiar with those words through using them in my diary, and you my friends are victim if you need to read them 🙂 Obviously, this is not your job to correct me but if you can tell me (when you give me 20 seconds of your life) even wrong or correct, that would be helpful!

  1. , in which: I spent time at physical therapy this morning, in which I am not sure whether the treatment is effective, or not. Should I omit “this morning” to specify the location for “in”?? I always get confused this one…
  2. , wherein: Is this the same meaning of “in which”? I dropped snacks into the pond, wherein Koi fish ate them in seconds. Or, I can say that The school wherein I attended decided to make all classes become online classes. This seems much more natural to me.
  3. , which in turn: I have started teaching a language after work which in turn that I don’t have time to spend my money, whereby I can save more money (I hope).

Ok….I felt better to try and open my weakness to you all!

 

Duh….I had a small talk with my wife before she went to bed. “Do you know Naomi Osaka?” Sure, I know her as a professional tennis player. Her parents are a Japanese and a Haitian. She was slightly annoyed by her way of protest, which she did not want to continuously play the tournament (she returned) unless the things out there regarding BLM get better. I guess she is getting tired seeing that celebrities want to get involved with the protest. I think that for her, those famous people are trying to show their sides to public (public opinion is quite obvious so easy for them to act/protest). I really don’t care whoever wants to join the protest, but I can tell public that I need my policemen in my town. Society is not quite right, we all know that. At the same time, I am shocking to see that the protocols the current low enforcement are following….Kill. Kill. Kill……I cannot believe it. We surely want policemen to not get hurt during their duties. However, the quality of law enforcement became really low, is it based on a bunch of ex military or American Football drop outs? who knows… Obviously, I do not mean that all policemen are douchey way, but there are some tendencies I can notice. This is the society problem, American problem, in which law enforcement is a part of it. I’m a hunter and like my rifle and shotgun, but do we really need to distribute this much amount of firearms in this society? I am ready to give up my firearms for this society. Population control for animals? Yeah, it is cumbersome but we need to focus on more important matters. Assault rifle….Definitely we do not need that in our society. We need to protect ourselves yes….but allowing the society to sell those tools does not seem to protect ourselves. I am afraid of people who are getting freaked out and carrying out guns (even on the campus), I do not trust your skill set. I am sorry. Stop blaming on others and start looking at what you can do. Because you are decent people in general. Then, suddenly…..sigh

Anyway, I cooked a dinner (I wish I could have a dinner with my wife….sob). Really, this is the most joyful moment in my life lately…..Ughhh I want to climb mountains….Wanna see my friends in the woods! Let me out here!!

Log in to write a note
kat
August 27, 2020

I have never found that my English and grammar skills earn me much money… mine is lacking so much

August 27, 2020

@kaliko Thank you so much for your comment though! Your honest is the golden ticket 🙂