Alone and Remorseful

Where to begin?  In short, I am your average gay guy, trying to stumble his way through life.  At length, I am a pathological liar that was caught in his lies, and ruined every single relationship he had.  I admit it, I’m the bad guy.  The guy that played on other people’s emotions to gain the love and gratification he was never given.  My lying started when I moved from a conservative midwestern broken family into a southern broken family.  I moved from my mother’s to my father’s at the age of 14.  I wanted to forget my upbringing, the privileges I was denied, and the love and attention I so desperately craved.  On my first day of school in my new home, I covered my past by claiming that I was from a foreign country.  I had taught myself the language of said country, and used my talent and wit to continue masking my true identity.  It was a comfort blanket, a means of not having to face the realities of what I had gone through.  And from there on out, things simply snowballed and I was entangled in a web of lies that I had created.

 

To be continued…..

Log in to write a note
August 9, 2020

I have a half-brother who did the same as you. Except he has not changed or regretted anything. I had not met him until about 20 yrs ago or so, and the first thing he said to me, very sternly, is that I better not speak Spanish when I’m around him because he did not want to be “associated” with inferior people. Oh well! No skin off my nose, but the relationship did not last long 🙂

At least your experience produced some kind of change in you. Make that your one of many small steps toward the top and be proud.

August 9, 2020

@thenerve It has started a change in me.  I was exposed online in the cruelest way possible.  I guess I deserve it.  As JK Rowling said, “and so rock bottom became the solid ground on which I rebuilt my life”.

August 9, 2020

@thatguyanonymous – Forget about deserving it; don’t think of that, it will hold you back. Think of the lesson you can learn from it and how you can use it as a first step to wherever you want to to. JKR is a wise woman – she can work magic  😉