Life Update (new mom stuff)

Being a new mom is amazing right?

In a pandemic?  Sure… still great.

While navigating working from home?  Eh… okay, challenging, still good.

With no help?  Ugh.

I am so, so, so grateful for our baby boy.  He is the light of my life.  But I have to say, being constantly “on” with little to no down or relax time since he was born has been pretty exhausting.  I should provide additional context here – Mitchell and I live across the country from any family, and given the pandemic, can’t exactly hire a “babysitter”… so here we are.  Navigating parenthood, as new parents, a little bit blind and trying to not lose our minds.

Today was tough.  Mitchell and I are both working from home, and trying to entertain a 9 month old isn’t exactly a walk in the park!  It’s hard.  Monday, I had meetings with some business partners, and Tarin was being SO loud.  Screaming at the top of his lungs.

Again – I’m grateful.  I’m grateful to be a mom; grateful that we were gifted Tarin in the midst of overcoming incredible challenges in our marriage.  But it’s hard as fuck!

I think I’m struggling with completely losing my independence.  I know, I know – should have thought about that when I got pregnant 😉 but it’s hard!  Weekends are devoted to entertaining.  There is no sleeping in, no afternoon naps, no afternoon outings to bars, etc.  And the constantly having to be “on” – “don’t get in the garbage!”  or, “he’s whining again”, or “his diaper needs changed.” Darn kid – can you change it yourself?  Haha.

Anyway.  I’m feeling it today.  I don’t think it helps that my job is incredibly demanding and intense -a lot is asked of me and on any given day, I have 8-10 meetings.  So that, in conjunction with being a stay-at-home-working-mom (?), is a struggle.

If any of you have tips, tricks, I would greatly appreciate them!  Trying to be the best version of myself to everyone in my life but that’s harder than it sounds!

Much love from a tired mom,

~Elle

Log in to write a note
February 10, 2021

Mazel tov! I know how exhausting parenthood is bc I looked after my nephew from birth to age 13 when he was pulled into Child Services..

March 6, 2021

I work with families who have babies 18 months and under and I see the struggle. It’s real. Try to remember this too shall pass. It may seem like a never ending tunnel of giving of yourself, but there is light at the end of the tunnel. In the mean time try to arrange some time for yourself by letting your husband take over. I mean really take time, not just showering and eating breakfast that day. It’ll get better.