Log in to write a note
January 25, 2019

Is this any where near where the twin towers were?

January 25, 2019

@jaythesmartone not really – the Flatiron Building is 23rd Street and the Towers were (and are) way downtown, they are about 2.5 miles apart.

January 25, 2019

How does it not blow over? It looks like it could never withstand a strong wind. Funny I’ve never heard of it. I always thought the Empire State building was the first skyscraper.

January 25, 2019

@startingover_1 it’s actually wedge-shaped, but you can’t see that in the picture – so I guess that helps!

January 25, 2019

We have a mini version of The Flatiron Building in Edmonton, Alberta, where I grew up.  It’s called the Gibson Block, built around 1913 and while it’s only four stories high, I’ve always loved that building.  It would be awesome to see the original some day.  I will have to search for the PBS show.

February 7, 2019

@wren I will have to look the Gibson Block up 🙂

January 25, 2019

What a lovely building! May have to look for that PBS show.

February 7, 2019

@catholicchristian it’s a good one!

January 25, 2019

Cool!

January 27, 2019

Interesting….such a strange looking building.  Did they make it so skinny in order for fit in a certain  space, or was that the way they wanted it?

February 7, 2019

@dlk082244 they did! It fits into a triangle lot that is formed by the intersection of Broadway and Fifth Avenue that is a very skinny triangle.

January 27, 2019

I’m not sure how, but we managed to spend three days in Manhattan this summer and never saw this building. Then again, after accidentally stumbling into Times Square after our Broadway show, we skillfully avoided that hot mess for the rest of our time there.

February 7, 2019

@principassapollyanna that’s good – Times Square is the worst part of the city 🙂 I avoid it as much as possible. The Flatiron Building is on 23rd Street next to Madison Square Park (which is different from Madison Square Garden) – that’s one of my favorite parts of the city, it’s a very nice park.

January 27, 2019

Wow, I  don’t know why, but looking at these pics, to me, is scary, lol. I think the building is too thin, and tall, and well, I guess I am being silly. I like it, and am intrigued by the sides, where it curves around. I know the building isn’t that thin, lol, but, it’s very interesting and intriguing and I just want to keep looking at it, lol.

February 7, 2019

@butterfly4him yes it fascinates me that they decided to build a building that shape, back then.

January 27, 2019

Love city architecture. I live a few hours from Chicago, and we have some nice buildings as well.

I have always wanted to visit NY, maybe one day!

February 7, 2019

@cherrywine_1 Chicago has some great buildings, for sure!