Gummosis

Which I didn’t know was a thing (gummosis) until I learned about it through the wonder of the internet. The cherry tree in our yard is leaking sap at a crazy rate – what I learned is that this behavior is a symptom of damage from insects, wounds, weather, or other poor conditions. Now I feel sorry for our cherry tree, because it’s crying out for help.

Which reminds me of all the talk in the media and online last year about how trees talk to each other – turns out, a lot of that stemmed (HA) from a book by German botanist Peter Wohlleben, that ended up on the best-seller list. In which, he described how trees communicate with each other through networks of connected roots.

Unrelated, I took the below picture of a tiny spider on a kitchen counter this weekend – it amazes me how far you can zoom in on tiny objects with an iPhone, even if the results are just a tinge blurry. This spider was about the size of a pencil eraser.

While trying to figure out how many eyes she had (I think I see six) I learned that 99% of spider species have eight eyes, but there are spiders with fewer. Also, that spiders have very tiny waists compared to other arachnids.

That’s all for today’s nature update 😁

Log in to write a note
September 9, 2019

Poor tree, but cool picture.

September 11, 2019

@poisonnoir thanks!

September 9, 2019

Poor tree. Is there anything that can be done to help it?

September 11, 2019

@gypsywynd well, the internet says you have to fix the problem, since this is just a symptom – but I haven’t found any bugs or sickness that needs to be treated yet!

September 9, 2019

The colors on the tree look really cool.  At first I didn’t know what it was but then when you said it’s sap then I understood…But I didn’t know it was because the tree had issues….Poor tree…..

September 11, 2019

@jaythesmartone yes, we are hoping it will feel better next year 🙂

September 9, 2019

Hey thanks for the blown up pic of the spider and the nightmares I’ll have because of it! 😉

September 11, 2019

@dancingthrough you’re welcome 😂

September 9, 2019

Poor tree! And really cute spider. Do you like Lukas the Spider?  https://youtu.be/VrS6akzR3sk

September 11, 2019

@bonnierose I had never seen Lukas the Spider before, but now I’m a fan 🙂

September 10, 2019

There was a cherry tree in my childhood backyard that had the same issue. It had been struck by lightning at some point; it was bent but perfectly alive. My dad eventually cut it down, mostly because I fell out of it.

I don’t like spiders at all, but that little guy (lady?) is almost cute.

September 11, 2019

@queenofegypt yes, the internet says this is usually the result of a wound, either from something hitting the tree, or from insects – but lightning! That must have made an interesting tree.

September 11, 2019

sap trees bring back a rush of memories.  cute ‘pider.  hope you are well, DM.  be blessed, sir!

September 11, 2019

@glitterampwings thanks, hope you are well too!

September 12, 2019

That’s a shame about the tree, I’ve never seen anything like that.

And why are spiders actually kinda cute up close like that? I think its the eyes… remind me of big brown puppy dog eyes.

September 18, 2019

@cherrywine_1 I do find them cute, much more than scary 🙂

BJ.
September 15, 2019

Please do something about the fake diaries!  I am sick of seeing posts about wedding dresses by a fake!  The fakes are taking over!

September 18, 2019

@bj we are working on tightening the spam system to block them – I agree, they are very frustrating. Thanks for you patience!

BJ.
September 19, 2019

@thediarymaster thank you!  I wish you would also implement a way to block diaries.  Since not many of my friends are here I hang out on the main page and would love to block or hide some annoying diaries that I am not interested in seeing.

September 25, 2019

@bj thanks – that is something that is definitely on the to-do list, a “mute” capability to hide diaries you don’t want to see.

BJ.
September 25, 2019

@thediarymaster Yes “mute” would be wonderful!  Thanks!

September 16, 2019

Fear not. Growing up we had cherry trees in the back yard, and they did the same thing year, after year, after year.

September 18, 2019

@petersshadow well that’s good to know!

September 28, 2019

Awww poor tree. I hope the it gets the treatment it deserves.

October 3, 2019

@velvetunderground we are trying but we will see what the spring brings 🙂