Happy April Fool’s Day

You know, I was thinking about an April Fool’s entry last night – but failed to come up with anything clever.  Everything I could think of was either so obvious it was stupid, or so subtle that everybody would have ignored it.  So, whatever – Google outdid anything I could do, anyhow.

Seriously, Google can feel good about their branding (I’m sure they do without me telling them) when a simple change of the logo on their page probably caused a physical reaction among millions of people.

So since my creativity is absent, I instead present something that COULD be an April Fool’s Joke, but scarily, is not.

Enjoy the day!

The DiaryMaster

Log in to write a note
April 1, 2010

LOL…I wanted to punk my daughters and tell them we were moving to Topeka, but decided they’d see through it since we haven’t lived anywhere else for the last 20 years. 🙂

April 1, 2010

I couldn’t think of anything either *sigh*

April 1, 2010

Ten points to Google! Erm, I mean Topeka! *laughs butt off* 🙂 ~Shady

Tux
April 1, 2010

Heh… “All entries, including FO and Private, will now have to be approved by myself and my crack-team of admins before they will be allowed to be posted to your diary.” Now THAT woulda been a good April Fools! 😉

April 1, 2010

You could have pulled an OGPlanet and tell people the MMO they were hosting closed April 1st, and everyone THINK it’s an april fools joke…but it wasn’t LOL Although, that would REALLY suck!

April 1, 2010

This is the first year I *didn’t* fall for Google’s April Fool’s joke, and that’s only because my husband reminded me yesterday to expect it. I’m so gullible. 🙁

~wc
April 1, 2010

As an Actual Topekan it was fun to see Google’s home page this morning.

April 1, 2010

Thanks. This line from your first link made my day: “I topeka’s him with AltaVista”

April 1, 2010

When I saw “TOPEKA” I just sat there dumbfounded. I lived there for 10 years. Weird!

April 1, 2010

Merry Christmas!!! 😉

April 1, 2010

Haha, I fell for the Google one. I always forget that they do an April Fool’s joke and it’s always amazing.

April 1, 2010

you should post a stronger warning b/4 clicking on the last link… I was mortified!! jk

April 1, 2010

OMG a barak obama chia? WANT! LOL

April 1, 2010

one Mr T. mohawk comin right up!

April 1, 2010

I have no imagination for this kind of thing. Seriously. “Your shoe’s untied” is as clever as I get. *sigh*

I’m having issues posting pictures. Every time I try, it shuts down my entry and comes up as website unavailable.

April 1, 2010

Aloha… Two years ago… my next door neighbor came into my house while I was gone… and took everything out of my refrigerator… I came home… opened the refrigerator door looking for something to eat… and…………………??? Smiles…….

April 1, 2010

Is that a spider?

April 1, 2010

LOL at the chia pets. I’ve always hated those things. I’ve never seen Google’s April Fool’s jokes. I guess I’ve never had to google anything on April Fool’s Day.

April 1, 2010

Happy April fools’ Day! <3

Nah Sorry! It’s the 2nd of April for those of us who are,’down under.’ ;D

April 1, 2010

chia greens have great micronutrients.. Now which one shall I buy..? hmmmmm

April 1, 2010

My favorite Google April Fools was when Gmail announced that they were introducing a way of making e-mails look like you’d sent them before you actually did, with the option of having it appear as though your recipient already read them. Chia Obama was proliferating as soon as the man got elected.

April 1, 2010

I came here for the LOLCAT HAIKU.

April 1, 2010

Thank you. Happy April Fools Day to you , too. GBY&Y Smiles Hugs Love

April 1, 2010

OMG, an Obama Chia Pet? No way. I almost have to buy one. Just to say I did. Maybe save it and give it as a gag Xmas gift or something.

April 1, 2010

The next product will be chia testicles.

April 1, 2010

I noticed the google/topeka thing last night didn’t hit me until my sis in law said something yea they always are doing something to catch your eye lol I’ve never ‘done the april fools thing was afraid it would only ‘backfire’ lmao

April 1, 2010

What’s a Google! LOL I actually know someone who has a Chia Obama. Kind of sad really…;)

April 1, 2010

The Chia Obama is hilarious. Thanks for sharing, it was a good giggle.

Is that why it said Topeka today? And here I thought it was just another google thing. I didnt even think anything about it. Lol.

April 2, 2010

like chia pets even less now!!! take care,

April 2, 2010

How do “passwords” for outside people to read your diary work? I set up the password, description, and details, but what do I tell them to do? Where do they enter the password? Thanks in advance! ~

April 2, 2010

I usually think of something to get people with on April Fool’s day, but this year I was totally without anything…but NEXT year…Heheheh…

April 3, 2010

I think I must have missed google’s april fools joke. What did they do?

April 4, 2010

Why am I not able to post entrys?

April 5, 2010

DM – Thank you for the news post on the front page! Almost my entire 11 year relationship is documented here, except for the first year and a half we were together. It has been so nice to have a supportive community here during all the good and the rough. We spent over 4 years long-distance (1200 miles) while he was away at college. So this means a lot to me! Thanks again.

April 5, 2010

Hi, I’m trying to find out how we can get a bulletin posted — caldendargirl (her name was Amber) passed away last night. Her boyfriend’s a little lost right now, and he’s trying to figure out how we can get in touch with the people she was close to, here. Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much. -Becky

April 6, 2010

Since I get home way past this important holiday, I’ll just send you a hug.

April 6, 2010

I missed the google april 1st homepage. God, I’m so out of the loop. I do like the Chia’s though, we need to do that with our Canadian prime ministers, ‘twould be pretty fitting in some cases.

April 7, 2010

Ryn: do it!! It tickled me no end!!

Regarding Rule #1 “Insulting, derogatory, or otherwise offensive language directed at other diarists in our community is strictly forbidden. If you do not agree with the viewpoints expressed by another member, please choose to simply not read their diary. Personal attacks will not be tolerated, and will result in removal of the offender’s diary from the site. We believe that the opinions and viewsof all of our members are important, and should be respected. ” Could you specifically define attack? The dictionary defines it as: 1.to set upon in a forceful, violent, hostile, or aggressive way, with or without a weapon; begin fighting with: He attacked him with his bare hands. 2.to begin hostilities against; start an offensive against: to attack the enemy. 3.to blame or abuse violently or bitterly. 4.to direct unfavorable criticism against; criticize severely; argue with strongly: He attacked his opponent’s statement. 5.to try to destroy, esp. with verbal abuse: to attack the mayor’s reputation. 6.to set about (a task) or go to work on (a thing) vigorously: to attack housecleaning; to attack the hamburger hungrily.

7.(of disease, destructive agencies, etc.) to begin to affect. Here’s my issue. If I want to vent about someone, and warn others about that person, I am getting the idea from you that this is not acceptable. Even in a private friends only entry. The rules need to be more specific and say that it also includes statements made in friends only entries. I can’t see me continuing to pay money on a web site that will not allow me to vent with my friends. There are certain OD members on here that are absolutely vile, that in my opinion, you shouldn’t even allow to write on here because everything they say is an attack on someone or something, but yet, you allow this, but you do not allow others to express themselves in friends only entries. If I want to say something about a certain OD member that I feel is threatening and unstable, I should be allowed to say it in an entry that they cannot see. It is absolutely despicable to me that the rules only seem to apply to certain OD members that get on you or your fellow admins bad sides. I have seen some things on this site with absolutely no retribution done by you or your admins that has been far worse

than anything that was said in TL’s friends only entry.

Also, as a side note. Name calling is not an attack if said person has no idea about what is being said. An attack is directly going to that persons diary and verbally abusing them in a note, that is an attack. Hell I don’t even get offended if someone calls me a bitch in a note because that isn’t an attack, now if they said “you are a psychotic bitch that should be put down” then yes, that’s an attack, but if they said “you are acting like a bitch” it would make me think and reread the entry.

April 7, 2010

How many times will the password stop working on ‘Raymond Rowley King’ before you finally fix the problem?

April 8, 2010

Submitting to Theme of the Week is down. Every time I try for the past two days it has an error.:(

April 8, 2010

You have a diary that made the news page about a girl who survived a car accident. Respectfully requesting that be removed from od news. It isn’t news when you are huffing and getting high and it certainly shouldn’t be broadcast that she was negligent and fell asleep at the wheel of her car she could have killed someone. This type of crap KILLS people and she shouldn’t receive ANY kind of “news worthiness”

I didn’t go to the Google page for much of the day. I think I was almost done with work that day when I pulled it up. I definitely did a double take!!

April 9, 2010

Well you could make title “Watch out for April Fool Prankers!!! that is what I put in my yahoo status to warn my friends lol anyway my boyfriend did tricked me on that day telling me he done 4,999 sit ups in one hour pfffffft! I got fooled grrrrr . RYN Thank you welcome back how did you catch me there are millions of od fans??? Must me my title in od ha lol.

April 10, 2010

How weird! I was surprised to see the Chia Obama but yet wasn’t… I have a friend who loves Lincoln so I’ll have to send that along. Yet I have a feeling none of the proceeds benefit the campaign. 😉 But at least it isn’t as shady as Ty trying to market his daughters’ images as Beanie Baby dolls.