OD Merchandise and Boosting

 Happy Groundhog Day, everybody.  Every year, I feel sorry for the groundhog – they wake him up early enough to make the morning news, drag him out of his warm little house, and wave him around at a bunch of not-very-excited onlookers.  Personally, I’ve had enough of winter – and that was before the last week of sub-20 degree days.

Anyway, I want to thank all the people that have participated so far in the OD Booster Club – OD has been promoted in a bunch of fun places, including apartment building walls, workplace bulletin boards, and porta-potty doors.  Thanks to all of these folks:

Almostallgrowdup
Auroralisa.
Avatar
Beth a Roni
Bitter__angel
Dailies
MeghanwithanH
Miss Adia
Realms of Kaos
Reel Mama Monkey
simply ♥ me
Sweetly Shining
TiNyPrInCeSiTa

the world is getting to know OD better.  If you haven’t read about the Booster Club yet, please jump over to the page (link above) and check it out – the whole point is to let the world know about our happy home here.  And remember, you can win a free one-year OD Plus subscription for you or a friend if you come up with this month’s best Booster idea.

I also wanted to add, I am bringing back the Open Diary Merchandise store – powered by CafePress, and filled with OD t-shirts, mugs, baby gear, and other knick-knacks (much of it bearing the fun Booster Club slogans we’ve been using for the signs and leaflets).  I’m still prettying it up some, but feel free to have a look (and pick up some stuff.  I’ve priced everything pretty much as low as possible – we shan’t be making any money off of it, but it’s another fun way to get the OD name out there).

I often wonder if my fatuous and silly use of parentheses and punctuation makes well-grammared people want to vomit at my entries.

Speaking of silly and vomit, had Monty Python’s Meaning of Life on this morning as I was working – I do think that the last time I watched it all the way through was in college following some mind-altering beverages, and I remember being heartily disturbed then by the scene called "The Middle of the Film" which features an elephant-headed butler and Graham Chapman in scary drag (as opposed to nice drag).  If you’ve never seen it, watching with your brain at half-mast is not recommended.

Proof that Wikipedia knows all: Meaning of Life.

Have a good day!

The DiaryMaster

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
X
February 2, 2010

First note!!

February 2, 2010

Looking forward to the merchandise!

February 2, 2010

My brain was at ‘half mast’ a few years ago while watching “Life of Brian” and the center part where the biblical chase scene suddenly turns into a UFO chase…yeah…I got confused VERY quick and was thinking “did I fall asleep??” hahahaa

February 2, 2010

And X, I can’t believe you did a ‘first’ note. That actually made me laugh!!

X
February 2, 2010

W00T! 🙂 Glad to hear it! 🙂

February 2, 2010
February 2, 2010

Last note!!

Wow. The meaning of life is much more complicated than I ever imagined. I am woefully behind.

I highly suggest you youtube lego monty python holy grail. Totally good for the laugh!

February 2, 2010

🙂

February 2, 2010

One thing that keeps people away is the long, complicated url’s of one’s diary. For example at blogger your blog is nameofblog.blogspot.com, easy to tell people. Can OD’s diary url’s be easier?

Hello Mr. DM, I’m getting an iphone in the next few weeks & was just wondering if there is an OD app, or if you’ve thought of adding one. 🙂

February 2, 2010

I’m a huge parentheses fan (I use them all time) so no complaints from me.

February 2, 2010

I just learned that making a grammatical observation irritates people, so at my own risk, I say, bring it on. I like a witty aside (especially when couched in parentheses) and I tend to be a little heavy handed with commas, so it bothers me not one whit. Michael Palin’s answer: “try to be nice to people, avoid eating fat, read a good book every now and then, get some walking in, and try to live together in peace and harmony with people of all creeds and nations” Not bad. I tend more to the spiritual: it is to fulfill God’s purpose and varies with each individual.

February 2, 2010

Fishy fishy fishy FISH. I wonder where that fish could be? And he *winked* with a little eye . . .

I like the URL idea. LIke missadia.opendiary.com I don’t even know what my Auth code is. I’m going to go look at merchandise.

February 2, 2010

It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one who feels bad for the groundhog. :o)

February 2, 2010

pffft. that wiki link for “meaning of life” would have been a lot more impressive if it went to a page that said “42”. in large, friendly letters…erm…or numbers, as the case may be. also, everytime i see the word “parentheses” i think it’s my name. i had to mention that because the copious use of the word parentheses in your note-space made me think that a lot of people were talking about me and i didn’t know why.

February 2, 2010

is that the part where he is looking for afish or some crap. its kinda creepy

EWS
February 2, 2010

17th note!! 🙂 Eric

I am so buying the big coffee mug!

February 2, 2010
February 2, 2010

Yay booster club! Yay merchandise! Yay Porta-Potty!

February 2, 2010

RYN: Thanks so much. I didn’t realize there was a special way to submit the entry… Thanks for clarifying that for me!!

February 2, 2010
February 2, 2010

It doesn’t make ME vomit and I’m an editor! Not that anyone would know when it comes to my OD entries…

Mmmmmm, I think changing my username would be a good idea before promoting OD, although most people look at me like I have 2 heads when I say I have an online diary. Their loss :D.

February 3, 2010

It would be ironic to purcase an OD journal from cafepress. But, can you add larger plus sizes to the list of available clothing as you DO have a bunch of largr peoples on OD.

February 3, 2010

i think watching Fishy Fishy Fishy Fish with your brain half-mast is the ONLY way to watch it.

February 3, 2010

HA!About the inebrated Monty Python watching.I can barely handle the absurd silliness sober!

February 3, 2010

Oh, and I would also like to put in a request for larger sizes.I am MUCH larger, and don’t expect 13429808-X, but the 2X-ers a 3X-ers deserve some love too.And sweatshirts are more comfortable baggy anyway.I’d pay more for my size.

February 3, 2010

woohoo my names in ur post!! =)

February 3, 2010

I do like parantheses, so use away. I don’t think I am brave enough to advertise my OD, haha.

February 3, 2010

RYN: Thanks so much!!! I can’t wait til I get the cool lil’ OD Booster bar! woohoo!!!

Would you like a mint? They’re wafer thin!

February 3, 2010

watching a clockwork orange with a brain at half mast isnt recommended either 😡

February 4, 2010

I’d LOVE to have a hoodie, but white and I… we don’t mix well, lol. Make a black one and it’s mine!

February 4, 2010

Again, I just appreciate the response.That’s what sets you miles ahead of any other internet company founder: You actually care. (:

I am really honoured to get my first note from Diary master.I learn a lot coming here.

I am really honoured to get my first note from Diary master.I learn a lot coming here.

MRS
February 5, 2010

I was expecting Wikipedia to just say “42”

February 8, 2010

RYN: Lido Beach. If you and Mrs. DM visit, you must call me.

February 9, 2010

Hi DiaryMaster! I am going to be doing two different runs for good causes. One is for March of Dimes, and the other is for Race for the Cure. I was wondering if you could maybe make a link on the front page to help me with donations? I made a public entry with links for anyone that wants to donate. Thanks for any help you can provide! <3 Katy

February 9, 2010

Here is the link to my public entry: http://www.opendiary.com/entryview.asp?authorcode=D814075&entry=10010&mode= Thanks! <3 Katy

February 14, 2010

There are a lot of seemingly random notes on this entry.

Three diarists and I are getting together to participate in a charity fundraiser called the Melbourne City Romp (http://www.melbournecityromp.com/) in March to make “Team OD”. The question I have about is if I’m creating t-shirts (with iron-on transfer) for my team containing the OpenDiary logo, will we be in breach of copyright because of the recent re-opening of the OD merchandise store?

Thanks for ur kind msg its really appreciated 🙂 oh and OD is a great website!