Site Performance

Just a short one – wanted to let you all know that I have been working since Friday on the slowness on the site.  It is highly variable, and seems to be only affecting some people at some times, so I haven’t been able to track it down 100% yet.  I was sure I had it fixed on Friday night, but there are obviously still some issues.

I will continue testing and prodding, and update as any progress is made.

Thanks for your patience,

The DiaryMaster

Log in to write a note
May 17, 2010

Dear DM, I thought the site’s slowness was fixed this morning, but since I have had intermittent slowness today too. Thanks for updating us.

If it helps at all… it seems to be my Bookmarks page, more than anything, that takes the longest to load. Even when I’m using OD Mobile on my BlackBerry. And, no, I don’t have the icons/pictures turned on on that page, so that’s not it.

May 17, 2010

yup. still slow, over here.

May 17, 2010

slow here, too. i thought it was my computer but evidently it isnt.

YES…………..slow! I’m glad you are looking into it. 🙂

Did you pick a booster club winner for April? Did you ever stop by Traci Lynn’s diary to see her latest effort?

May 17, 2010

Monday 1300, very , very slow.

May 17, 2010

The slowness isn’t just with Open Diary, it seems to be everywhere. Have wondered if there’s a limit to what the network can handle. It seems to run faster late at night. Willy of

Veeeerry slow..

Been slow here most of the day. I noticed today, and on the weekend, it seemed to be only the bookmarks page being slow – today it seems every so many diaries are slow as well. Good luck!

*rips hair out* Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa frustrating

Thanks for working on the slowness. I’ve noticed it, too, and today it’s exceptionally slow.

Slow here. Takes a good 3-4 minutes to load an entry, and I’ve been getting a blank screen that says something about a ‘bad host’. 😐

I don’t stress about it.

May 17, 2010

I’m still very slow too. Appreciate the work you’re doing on this….

May 17, 2010

Thank you for keeping us posted

May 17, 2010

we’re all a little slow on mondays. no biggie.

May 17, 2010

Still slow in michigan, but mainly only when saving or going to the bookmarked section. THANK YOU FOR DOING EVERYTHING YOU DO! YOU ARE AN AMAZING PERSON! (And not one that I’ll ever add to my hit list)

May 17, 2010

Thank you DM for always keeping up on things.

May 17, 2010

I am glad I read this. I thought I was on dial up for a minute.

May 17, 2010

Still very slow here. Thanks for informing us and working on it.

I haven’t noticed an issue with speed (am in Alabama), but I have had trouble accessing the site in general. It was often down for long periods of time, especially on Saturday.

May 17, 2010

Thanks DM! Still getting intermittent slow times in Australia.

May 17, 2010

Molto bene!

May 17, 2010

Mahalo nui loa for the update…!

May 17, 2010

I just thought it was my computer lmao thanks for all the hard work you do

May 17, 2010

it’s been slow for me as well. I thought it was just my computer ! and was prepared to do some serious housecleaning on it. lol

Thanks so much. Very slow tonight.

May 17, 2010

Thanks for your hard work. Do you ever sleep? 😉

I’m not getting update emails, thought it might be relevant.

May 17, 2010

Slow for me too…….

It’s still slow here, DM…. took almost a full minute for my bookmarks to pull up. I thought it might be site traffic, but apparently there’s something else going on. I leave it to you fine folks to get things back up to par! I’m crossin’ my fingers and toes for you! 🙂

May 17, 2010

Beyond frustrating slowness for us and I’m sure for you too. Everything moves fairly good until I click on Bookmarks and then it takes forever, times out and I have to go to the main page hit Bookmarks so it can time out again. Three or more trys to get to Bookmarks! I sure hope to can get this fixed sooner rather than later!!!!!!

May 17, 2010

The site has been running very slow the past few days for me also. 🙂 – – – –

May 17, 2010

read comments, but, no complaints from me. seems to be working well

Still slow here. Thanks for working on it.

Thank you for your hard work! Been slow on my ends since late last week!

May 17, 2010

Slow for me, as well…

May 17, 2010
May 17, 2010

Still having to reload to get the error message to go away…

May 17, 2010

Its not as slow as it used to be for me. But now I have problems with pages. I get error messages when I go to entries of my bookmarks. Have to go to their front page and work myself through older entries to get to the newest entry. Thanks for working on this..

Not sure if this will help, but all night tonight, I’ve been getting white pages with exceptions/error codes. Might help resolve the issue? lol Or pin point something that’s beyond my realm of expertise. 🙂 === This is what it keeps saying randomly at just about anything I was trying to do tonight. A trappable error (C0000005) occurred in an external object. The script cannot continue running.

Not sure if this will help, but all night tonight, I’ve been getting white pages with exceptions/error codes. Might help resolve the issue? lol Or pin point something that’s beyond my realm of expertise. 🙂 === This is what it keeps saying randomly at just about anything I was trying to do tonight. A trappable error (C0000005) occurred in an external object. The script cannot continue running.

Not sure if this will help, but all night tonight, I’ve been getting white pages with exceptions/error codes. Might help resolve the issue? lol Or pin point something that’s beyond my realm of expertise. 🙂 === This is what it keeps saying randomly at just about anything I was trying to do tonight. A trappable error (C0000005) occurred in an external object. The script cannot continue running.

Not sure if this will help, but all night tonight, I’ve been getting white pages with exceptions/error codes. Might help resolve the issue? lol Or pin point something that’s beyond my realm of expertise. 🙂 === This is what it keeps saying randomly at just about anything I was trying to do tonight. A trappable error (C0000005) occurred in an external object. The script cannot continue running.

Not sure if this will help, but all night tonight, I’ve been getting white pages with exceptions/error codes. Might help resolve the issue? lol Or pin point something that’s beyond my realm of expertise. 🙂 === This is what it keeps saying randomly at just about anything I was trying to do tonight. A trappable error (C0000005) occurred in an external object. The script cannot continue running.

Not sure if this will help, but all night tonight, I’ve been getting white pages with exceptions/error codes. Might help resolve the issue? lol Or pin point something that’s beyond my realm of expertise. 🙂 === This is what it keeps saying randomly at just about anything I was trying to do tonight. A trappable error (C0000005) occurred in an external object. The script cannot continue running.

Not sure if this will help, but all night tonight, I’ve been getting white pages with exceptions/error codes. Might help resolve the issue? lol Or pin point something that’s beyond my realm of expertise. 🙂 === This is what it keeps saying randomly at just about anything I was trying to do tonight. A trappable error (C0000005) occurred in an external object. The script cannot continue running.

May 18, 2010

I have tried all three of my browsers. As of 5 am eastern time I am finding chrome best, but I am getting errors regularly. Chrome is a bit faster.

I’ve had to refresh when trying to access pages & posting notes. Hope that a good solution is found so the site is working smoothly again. 🙂

May 18, 2010

thank you for continuing to look into the problem. it’s been slow for me and is still slow this tuesday morning. take care,

I hope all ODs are speeding on the highway soon! 😀 I have reported a diarist here (and so have 2 others) who has posted an offensive message with hurts Muslims like myself. I haven’t had any notification since I reported it, could you please look at it when you have time? This is the entry: http://www.opendiary.com/entryview.asp?authorcode=D544865&entry=11299

May 18, 2010

Slow for me too. Slow waiting for things to open especially bookmarks list.

May 18, 2010

Thanks for your efforts, and hope you find the problem soon…

May 18, 2010

Thank you!!!

May 18, 2010

In case you need updates, still very slow here going from Bookmarks etc.

May 18, 2010

I’m having EXTREME slowness at loading any diary screens yesterday and today. It essentially makes the site unusable. 🙁

Diary of a cancer’s latest entry seems to have an offensive title.

Mns
May 19, 2010

Hi DM. Hope you figure it out soon, most often I cannot access my “bookmarks,” which makes it a bit problematic. Many other aspects of the site are slow for me too. Like others, used to think maybe it was just my computer, but I don’t think so. I can maneuver around other sites pretty well, so it just must be an OD thang. Thanks!