Slippery

Just enough snow falling this morning to make the sidewalks slick, the skies are gray and pressing down.

I’m struck by the holiday music coming from the bell-ringers above – as I’m coming up the train station stairs, juxtaposed against the homeless man in shorts sprawled at the bottom. I wonder whether he hears the music, and if he does – does it make him sad? Angry? Wishful for another, earlier time?

Or does it go unheard, ignored as more noise intruding from a mad and insulting world?

I brush by, up the stairs, just another person pulling up a hood against the snow and the view. Entering a river of people moving towards their daily experience, but leaving some behind.

We are all humans. We all had mothers or fathers or holidays once.

I hope tomorrow is a better day for him.

 

 

Log in to write a note
December 13, 2018

The one thing I know is that there are some homeless people who want to be homeless for different reasons but then there are others who desperately want to have a so called “normal” life.  There is help out there for those who want it.

kat
December 13, 2018

what a inspiring post… so true. More people need to put their self in less fortunate people’s shoes! I am always inspired by Christmas to help as many people as I can. hoping I can change at least one person’s life is important to me

December 13, 2018

I hope tommorow is a better day for him as well

December 15, 2018

I hope so too. Any one of us could easily be that. At least from where I’m at, it looks not that far of a downward slide. I have a rental home and a car, but a few months of financial chaos (and not much of it) would easily send me into the streets. We must stay humble for humanity to be more united.

Did you know that studies have shown that the poor donate more to the (more?) poor than the rich do? Also there’s the Berkeley study on how being more wealthy changes your view and thinking no matter who you are.

December 22, 2018

@tiffany_b yes, I’m always amazed at how much better those who are not well off are giving to others – I mean, it’s wonderful, but those with the means should really do their part.

December 24, 2018

So do I!

February 7, 2019

Aw, I pray for him and all homeless, it hurts my heart.