Star Wars, Nothing But STAR WARS…

Full copy of the featured image, including Instagram tag of the artist:

because I think the whole image is worth seeing. Someday, we are going to change how featured images on posts work here, because I find the cropping tiresome.

This is a bit late, but DiaryMistress’ Valentine’s Day present to me was a trip to a retro-arcade that is filled with video games and pinball machines from the 70’s, 80’s, and 90’s. She took me there specifically because when we were first dating, we spent a lot of time in arcades playing this:

which, as any good 80’s nerd knows is from the Star Wars video arcade game from Atari. This retro-arcade had one, and we played it until our old hands and arms got too tired from pulling the triggers 🙂 .

It was a very sweet date for her to plan, and I really appreciated it – we had so much fun! We will be back soon, I think – we both made the leaderboard, and it was a pretty close competition.

For reference, the entry title is from this:

Can’t hardly ever think about the SW theme without thinking of this.

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
February 27, 2020

Never mind the arcade machines, you’d have to tear me away from the pinball

February 28, 2020

@williamthebloody they had some awesome pinball machines too, but they were more modern and had lots of extra geegaws, like a Simpsons machine that would sometimes launch five balls at once. We did spend quite a bit of time with those – I loved pinball as a smaller child, before I loved video arcade games as a larger one.

February 27, 2020

I use to play those arcade games and use to go to the pinball places but then it got expensive but I still like them…good thing for the internet.

February 28, 2020

@jaythesmartone this place charged a flat fee and then you got unlimited plays on all the machines, so it was better than pumping quarters into the machines was in the old days.

February 27, 2020

What an awesome gift! So glad you and Mistress had fun 😄

February 28, 2020

@teamarea it was great, thanks!

February 27, 2020

Oh, how fun! I need to do that for my husband.  Stargate was his game. Ms. Pac-Man was mine.  And galaga. And frogged. Oh don’t forget donkey kong! We were mall rats in the 80’s, lol.

February 27, 2020

Frogger

February 28, 2020

@catholicchristian they had all of those, except I don’t think they had Stargate. I played a lot of Galaga back in the day!

February 27, 2020

Hate to admit it, but I go as far back as the original — Pong!

February 28, 2020

@startingover_1 me too! Pong on the first Atari console in black & white on the TV 🙂

February 28, 2020

@thediarymaster For me it was a screen built into a table at a restaurant. I think it was before Atari. I’m getting seriously old. 🙁

March 2, 2020

@startingover_1 I remember those!

February 27, 2020

LOVE that SW art… and wow, that’s a nice V-Day gift. Not long ago, at work, we had an exposition of retro-arcade games and computers. You had a bunch of Commodores, Ataris, etc. It was a “petting” exposition, folks were allowed to touch  🙂  Traveling back in time IS possible!  🙂

February 28, 2020

@thenerve that’s so fun, an arcade game petting zoo 🙂

February 29, 2020

Star Wars is great! :^D

March 2, 2020

@albatrosswing it is! One of my cultural touchstones, I guess HA.

March 1, 2020

The arcade date sounds fun! Very sweet of her to think of.

March 2, 2020

@queenofegypt yes I though so too 🙂

March 3, 2020

I love Retro 80’s and 90’s items!  And I miss going to the arcade as a kid 😢 … I’ll have to see if there is something similar in my area. 😊

March 4, 2020

@angelgrl87 you should!