Sun’s Out and Don’t Know What to Do About It

Seems like it’s been about two weeks that it’s rained or been overcast every day. It was almost shocking to see the sun this morning 🙂

I sure hope the trend of electing more women and POC to our public offices continues – I sure am sick and tired of entitled old white men grasping at the threads of power. The more our elected officials look like the people they represent, the better for all.

Had a nice birthday trip over the weekend with the DiaryMistress – it was a very pleasant time at the seashore, in a place we had never been before. We went on a whale watch! But we saw no whales, and not even any dolphins – which according to the TripAdvisor reviews, people ALWAYS see on this particular trip. It was not our weekend for wildlife, in any case.

The back of my neck is sunburned (see above) – we were dumb and didn’t bring sunscreen or hats on the boat. The weather while we were away was surprisingly nice – we thought in advance that we might have to cancel due to the hurricane/leftovers, but where we were it was very sunny (so that was nice since it’s been so rainy at home).

We had some lovely walks on the beach, saw a really nice sunset, ate a bunch of seafood, it was great!

 

 

Log in to write a note
September 19, 2018

Sounds like a lovely birthday!

September 20, 2018

@snarkle it was, thanks 🙂

September 19, 2018

nice photos

September 20, 2018

@ihavenoarms thanks!

kat
September 19, 2018

I love your photos!!! I have issues with entitled old white men too!

September 19, 2018

@kaliko thanks!

September 19, 2018

Sounds wonderful! I love a good ocean sunset.

September 20, 2018

@queenofegypt me too 🙂

September 19, 2018

Hope you had a great birthday….The pictures of this trip is awsome….

September 19, 2018

@jaythesmartone thank you!

September 19, 2018

I would SO love trip to the shore! I need to feel sand between my toes! 🙂 Sounds like a fantastic birthday trip!

September 20, 2018

@wayward_woman it was, and it’s always great to walk in the sand 🙂

September 19, 2018

Glad you and Diary Mistress had a good birthday weekend.

September 20, 2018

@dlk082244 thanks, it was great!

September 19, 2018

Happy belated birthday.

September 19, 2018

@emiliasdance thanks!

September 19, 2018

I always joke that my home city gets one hour of sunlight a year

September 20, 2018

@williamthebloody that’s unfortunate!

September 20, 2018

I laughed over the word ‘wildlife’ in regards to whales and dolphins. I’ve lived in South Dakota my entire life and I think of wildlife as buffalo, coyotes (haha)

September 20, 2018

@serenadeoliver that’s funny! but yes, come to think of it if you said “wildlife” to me I would think of bears and such first, not whales 🙂

September 20, 2018

nothing like being by the sea and enjoying all the benefits it provides.   Sounds like a nice birthday weekend.

September 20, 2018

@sassymimi it was very nice, thanks.

September 21, 2018

A belated “Happy Birthday”.  Visiting a place that “you’ve never been before” is always a reason for excitement.  Bummer that the whales didn’t show up though. Still, sounds like a very nice weekend.

September 25, 2018

@petersshadow thanks, it was very nice!

September 24, 2018

happy belated birthday! i was fortunate enough to put my toes in the sand & do a little boogie boarding this summer so i share the feeling. what a fabulous birthday!

September 25, 2018

@pearlysweetcake thank you!